It is injected into a lesion.
An intralesional steroid calms local inflammation or scarring.
Cortisone Injection: A tiny shot of diluted steroid into one inflamed acne cyst. It flattens that spot in a few days. It treats the bump, not the acne.
Photodynamic Therapy: A light-activated drug applied in the office, then switched on with a lamp or laser. It is the strongest non-drug option for inflammatory acne, and the downtime is a real week.


Choose for one painful acne cyst that needs to flatten fast, or for keloids and patchy hair loss.
Choose to treat a whole area of sun damage at once — or as a strong non-drug option for stubborn acne — with a real week of downtime.
Can you have both?
A cortisone injection can calm a single painful cyst during a photodynamic therapy plan for acne.
An intralesional steroid calms local inflammation or scarring.
It is not a systemic steroid treatment.
Infected or uncertain lesions should not be injected.
Skin thinning, fat loss and pigment change may persist.
A photosensitizing medicine is activated by a set light exposure.
It is used for actinic keratoses and some superficial lesions.
It is not ordinary LED or UV treatment.
Sunscreen alone may not prevent activation.

Flattens a painful cyst within days.

Softens and flattens raised scars.

Regrows hair in patches.

Clears 75–90% of spots.

Calms an inflamed cyst.

Treats superficial types.

Used for stubborn acne.

Not for clogged pores.

Needs excision.

Can cause dents in skin.

Light can darken patches.
The specific lesion, scar or affected patch determines the treatment site; there is no fixed body distribution.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Medicine is placed in a lesion: A clinician injects an appropriate corticosteroid preparation. Inflammatory signaling decreases: The steroid reduces local immune and inflammatory activity. The lesion may soften or flatten: Response depends on the condition, dose, and placement.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
A photosensitizer is applied: The selected medicine accumulates in the prepared treatment area. Light activates the medicine: A matched light regimen produces reactive molecules. Selected cells are damaged: Inflammation and healing follow; treatment response varies.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
2 weeks before: Sun and tanning: Avoid sun and tanning for 2 weeks.
Before you book: Time off: Clear several days, especially the 48 hours after, when you must stay out of sunlight and bright indoor light.
Do not pick: Do not pick, squeeze or heat the spot.
5 to 7 days before: Actives: Stop retinoids and exfoliating acids.
Clean skin: Wash your face and skip makeup on the area.
The provider checks that the spot is an inflamed acne cyst and not a boil.
Photos, consent covering the off-label use and the downtime, and a medication review.
The skin is wiped with alcohol.
A very fine needle goes just into the bump and a small amount of fluid goes in, under 10 seconds per spot. The sting is sharp for a few seconds, worse if the cyst is already tender, but most people rate it lower than they expect. Numbing does not help much — the needle stick is the whole procedure.
Skin is cleaned and degreased, sometimes with microdermabrasion or an acetone wipe, so the drug soaks in evenly.
The solution goes on and you wait 20 minutes to 3 hours in a dim room. Then eye shields go on and you sit under a blue or red light for 8 to 20 minutes, or a laser or IPL is passed over. Stinging builds and peaks at the end; cold air helps.
A tiny red dot, sometimes a small raised bleb that flattens within an hour.
The least comfortable procedure on this list.
Days 1 to 2: The bump softens and the ache fades.
First 48 hours: Stay strictly out of sunlight and bright indoor light; daylight through a window can trigger a severe reaction.
First few days: A pinprick mark, sometimes a small bruise, fading over a few days.
Days 3 to 7: Most cysts are flat.
Days 4 to 10: Peeling and flaking, sometimes in sheets.
Weeks 1 to 2: An acne flare is common in the first week or two, before improvement starts.
24–48 hours for a cyst
2–4 weeks
Treats only that spot
Treated spots clear; new ones may form
Roughly $50 to $250 per office visit in the US, usually billed as an office visit plus a procedure charge rather than per spot.
In the US, PDT for acne generally costs about $400 to $1,500 per session, so a course commonly lands between $800 and $4,000.
Insurance often covers it, since acne cysts count as medical rather than cosmetic.
Insurance does not cover PDT for acne, because the approved indication is precancerous sun damage.
Softening begins within 24 to 48 hours and most spots are flat by day three to five. That figure traces back to one small 1983 trial — it matches what dermatologists see but has never been tested at scale. The mark left behind takes weeks longer, and the injection does not speed that up.
It can. A shallow depression happens when the dose is too strong, so a lower concentration is the main protection. It is uncommon — most dermatologists see it in well under one patient in a hundred — and it often fills in over several months. But it is not reliably temporary. About half the clinicians who do see it report it lasting more than six months, and occasionally it is permanent. That is why you ask what concentration is being used.
Yes, the most common reason people ask. Aim for three to five days ahead so the swelling has time to drop. A same-day injection rarely looks better by that evening.
No. It treats only the spot it is injected into. Preventing the next cyst needs a daily treatment plan, and the guidelines call this an add-on.
Yes. The risk is a lighter patch at the site, more noticeable and slower to fade on deeper skin tones. A lower concentration reduces it, so ask.
Not in the United States, strictly speaking. The FDA labeling lists intralesional use for keloids, alopecia areata, discoid lupus and others. Acne is not on it. Off-label use for an acne cyst is routine, legal and recommended by the American Academy of Dermatology, but almost nobody says it out loud. In the UK, NICE withdrew its recommendation in 2026 after UK-licensed triamcinolone injections stopped being available — a supply and licensing decision, not a safety one.
Not in the US. It is FDA-approved for precancerous sun spots; using it for acne is off-label. That is legal and common, but it means no standard protocol and results that vary between clinics.
Plan for 5 to 7 days of a visibly red, then swollen, then peeling face, with the worst in the first 48 hours. It is closer to a medium-depth peel than a laser facial.
The drug is still in your skin, and sunlight — including through a car or office window — activates it and can cause a severe burn. This is the most important instruction of the treatment.
No. Improvement typically lasts 6 to 12 months and repeat courses are often needed. It does not treat scars or existing brown marks.
It can be done, but the risk of lasting dark patches is meaningfully higher, because the treatment works by causing strong inflammation. A shorter incubation, a lower light dose and an experienced provider make a large difference.