It clears clogged pores.
Blackheads and whiteheads are removed by a clinician.
Comedone Extraction: A provider clears blackheads and whiteheads with a small tool. The result is immediate and temporary — pores refill within weeks unless a daily treatment changes them.
Photodynamic Therapy: A light-activated drug applied in the office, then switched on with a lamp or laser. It is the strongest non-drug option for inflammatory acne, and the downtime is a real week.


Choose for an instant clear-out of blackheads, whiteheads or milia — temporary unless a daily treatment keeps pores clear.
Choose to treat a whole area of sun damage at once — or as a strong non-drug option for stubborn acne — with a real week of downtime.
Can you have both?
Extractions can be done before photodynamic therapy for acne. Follow the clinic's sun-avoidance advice afterwards.
Blackheads and whiteheads are removed by a clinician.
It does not address every cause of acne.
Nodules and cysts need a different plan.
Excessive force can cause scarring or pigment change.
A photosensitizing medicine is activated by a set light exposure.
It is used for actinic keratoses and some superficial lesions.
It is not ordinary LED or UV treatment.
Sunscreen alone may not prevent activation.

Clears 75–90% of spots.

Clears them the same day.

Removes stubborn milia.

Treats superficial types.

Helps clogged pores alongside treatment.

Used for stubborn acne.

These bumps aren't clogged pores.

Needs excision.

Squeezing worsens redness.

Light can darken patches.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
An accessible plug is selected: A clinician identifies a suitable comedone. The plug is carefully removed: Controlled extraction lifts out trapped keratin and sebum. The pore opening is cleared: Ongoing acne care helps reduce new blockages.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
A photosensitizer is applied: The selected medicine accumulates in the prepared treatment area. Light activates the medicine: A matched light regimen produces reactive molecules. Selected cells are damaged: Inflammation and healing follow; treatment response varies.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Prep products: Some providers ask for a retinoid or salicylic acid first, which loosens plugs and makes extraction easier.
2 weeks before: Sun and tanning: Avoid sun and tanning for 2 weeks.
Before you book: Time off: Clear several days, especially the 48 hours after, when you must stay out of sunlight and bright indoor light.
A few days before: Do not pick: No picking or squeezing at home.
5 to 7 days before: Actives: Stop retinoids and exfoliating acids.
Clean face: Come without makeup if you can.
Skin is cleaned and the provider decides which spots can be extracted.
Photos, consent covering the off-label use and the downtime, and a medication review.
The provider presses around the pore with a metal loop or two swabs, opening whiteheads first with a tiny sterile needle.
You feel firm pinching at each spot. A full face takes 10 to 30 minutes. Blackheads are pressure more than pain; whiteheads and deeper plugs sting when opened, and a long run is tiring rather than sharp. A painful spot is not forced.
Skin is cleaned and degreased, sometimes with microdermabrasion or an acetone wipe, so the drug soaks in evenly.
The solution goes on and you wait 20 minutes to 3 hours in a dim room. Then eye shields go on and you sit under a blue or red light for 8 to 20 minutes, or a laser or IPL is passed over. Stinging builds and peaks at the end; cold air helps.
Red, blotchy skin with pink rings where spots were, sometimes pinpoint scabs.
The least comfortable procedure on this list.
Hours 2 to 6: Redness and small raised rings, sometimes into the next day, with occasional pinpoint scabs where a whitehead was opened.
Days 1 to 2: Redness mostly gone.
First 48 hours: Stay strictly out of sunlight and bright indoor light; daylight through a window can trigger a severe reaction.
Days 3 to 7: Skin looks normal.
Days 4 to 10: Peeling and flaking, sometimes in sheets.
Weeks 1 to 2: An acne flare is common in the first week or two, before improvement starts.
Immediately
2–4 weeks
Weeks; pores refill without daily treatment
Treated spots clear; new ones may form
With a dermatologist it is often bundled into an acne visit at no extra charge.
In the US, PDT for acne generally costs about $400 to $1,500 per session, so a course commonly lands between $800 and $4,000.
Insurance sometimes covers it when billed as acne surgery at a medical dermatology visit.
Insurance does not cover PDT for acne, because the approved indication is precancerous sun damage.
No. It empties the pore that day. It refills over 4 to 8 weeks unless a daily retinoid changes how the pore behaves.
Mostly yes — technique and restraint. A provider uses sterile tools, opens closed spots properly, and stops when a spot resists. Home squeezing causes most brown marks and small scars.
No. Deep, red, painful lumps have no opening to press through, and forcing one makes it worse. A cortisone injection is the answer.
Only in appearance, and briefly. An empty pore looks smaller; pore size does not change.
Blackheads feel like firm pinching. Whiteheads sting for a second when opened. Uncomfortable rather than painful.
Not in the US. It is FDA-approved for precancerous sun spots; using it for acne is off-label. That is legal and common, but it means no standard protocol and results that vary between clinics.
Plan for 5 to 7 days of a visibly red, then swollen, then peeling face, with the worst in the first 48 hours. It is closer to a medium-depth peel than a laser facial.
The drug is still in your skin, and sunlight — including through a car or office window — activates it and can cause a severe burn. This is the most important instruction of the treatment.
No. Improvement typically lasts 6 to 12 months and repeat courses are often needed. It does not treat scars or existing brown marks.
It can be done, but the risk of lasting dark patches is meaningfully higher, because the treatment works by causing strong inflammation. A shorter incubation, a lower light dose and an experienced provider make a large difference.