It targets oil glands.
The 1726-nm wavelength heats sebaceous structures.
1726 nm Laser: A laser tuned to heat and shrink oil glands. It is the first laser class cleared to treat acne itself, and it works on all skin tones. Three sessions, and results arrive slowly.
Cortisone Injection: A tiny shot of diluted steroid into one inflamed acne cyst. It flattens that spot in a few days. It treats the bump, not the acne.


Choose for ongoing acne when you want a drug-free option that treats the oil gland itself, and can wait months for results.
Choose for one painful acne cyst that needs to flatten fast, or for keloids and patchy hair loss.
Can you have both?
A cortisone injection can calm a single painful cyst at any point during a 1726 nm laser series.
The 1726-nm wavelength heats sebaceous structures.
Studies report improvement in some patients.
Device, cooling and patient selection matter.
Severe acne and scarring need effective care.
An intralesional steroid calms local inflammation or scarring.
It is not a systemic steroid treatment.
Infected or uncertain lesions should not be injected.
Skin thinning, fat loss and pigment change may persist.

Flattens a painful cyst within days.

Softens and flattens raised scars.

Regrows hair in patches.

Reduces breakouts in early studies.

Lowers oil production.

Calms an inflamed cyst.

Not studied for rosacea.

Doesn't change scars.

Not for clogged pores.

Can cause dents in skin.
Face and back; the acne-affected treatment area is assessed individually.
The specific lesion, scar or affected patch determines the treatment site; there is no fixed body distribution.
Laser energy reaches sebaceous tissue: A selected device delivers 1726 nm light with skin cooling. Sebaceous structures absorb light: The treatment creates a targeted thermal response. Acne activity may decrease: Improvement develops over time and varies among patients.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Medicine is placed in a lesion: A clinician injects an appropriate corticosteroid preparation. Inflammatory signaling decreases: The steroid reduces local immune and inflammatory activity. The lesion may soften or flatten: Response depends on the condition, dose, and placement.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Sun: Avoid sunburn.
3 to 5 days before: Retinoids: Stop topical retinoids for 3 to 5 days if asked.
Do not pick: Do not pick, squeeze or heat the spot.
Clean skin: Clean skin, no makeup.
Clean skin: Wash your face and skip makeup on the area.
Photos matter here, because progress is gradual.
The provider checks that the spot is an inflamed acne cyst and not a boil.
Eye shields on, the handpiece pressed on section by section.
Each pulse is a deep, hot snap against a cold plate. A full face takes about 30 minutes, often with a faint burnt smell from surface hairs. It hurts more than most laser facials, and numbing cream only takes the edge off.
The skin is wiped with alcohol.
A very fine needle goes just into the bump and a small amount of fluid goes in, under 10 seconds per spot. The sting is sharp for a few seconds, worse if the cyst is already tender, but most people rate it lower than they expect. Numbing does not help much — the needle stick is the whole procedure.
Red and slightly swollen, like mild sunburn.
A tiny red dot, sometimes a small raised bleb that flattens within an hour.
Redness, warmth and mild swelling for a few hours to a day.
Days 1 to 3: Redness settles; skin may feel rough or dry.
Days 1 to 2: The bump softens and the ache fades.
First few days: A pinprick mark, sometimes a small bruise, fading over a few days.
Days 3 to 7: Most cysts are flat.
Weeks 1 to 4: New spots are common, especially after the first session.
3–6 months after the last session
24–48 hours for a cyst
1–2 years in many; some need maintenance
Treats only that spot
In the US a three-session course runs about $2,500 to $4,500, sold as a package.
Roughly $50 to $250 per office visit in the US, usually billed as an office visit plus a procedure charge rather than per spot.
Insurance does not cover it — acne is medical, but this counts as elective.
Insurance often covers it, since acne cysts count as medical rather than cosmetic.
No head-to-head trial exists. Both use the same wavelength with similar results. Accure adds real-time temperature monitoring; AviClear has been in use longer. Operator experience matters more than the device.
Not for everyone. Isotretinoin is more reliable and durable for severe acne, and far cheaper. The laser suits people who cannot or will not take it, or whose moderate acne failed topicals.
A flare in the first few weeks is expected — damaged glands empty out and inflammation rises before it falls. It usually settles by week 4 to 6.
Improvement holds out to one and two years in many patients, but the data is limited and mostly industry-funded. Some need maintenance. Nobody can promise permanence yet.
Yes. It targets oil, not pigment, so it is one of the few acne lasers cleared for all skin types including the deepest. Heat can still leave dark patches, so settings and aftercare matter.
Softening begins within 24 to 48 hours and most spots are flat by day three to five. That figure traces back to one small 1983 trial — it matches what dermatologists see but has never been tested at scale. The mark left behind takes weeks longer, and the injection does not speed that up.
It can. A shallow depression happens when the dose is too strong, so a lower concentration is the main protection. It is uncommon — most dermatologists see it in well under one patient in a hundred — and it often fills in over several months. But it is not reliably temporary. About half the clinicians who do see it report it lasting more than six months, and occasionally it is permanent. That is why you ask what concentration is being used.
Yes, the most common reason people ask. Aim for three to five days ahead so the swelling has time to drop. A same-day injection rarely looks better by that evening.
No. It treats only the spot it is injected into. Preventing the next cyst needs a daily treatment plan, and the guidelines call this an add-on.
Yes. The risk is a lighter patch at the site, more noticeable and slower to fade on deeper skin tones. A lower concentration reduces it, so ask.
Not in the United States, strictly speaking. The FDA labeling lists intralesional use for keloids, alopecia areata, discoid lupus and others. Acne is not on it. Off-label use for an acne cyst is routine, legal and recommended by the American Academy of Dermatology, but almost nobody says it out loud. In the UK, NICE withdrew its recommendation in 2026 after UK-licensed triamcinolone injections stopped being available — a supply and licensing decision, not a safety one.