It means two different treatments.
It can be light alone for acne or part of photodynamic therapy.
Blue Light Therapy: Visible blue light, around 415 nm, shone on the skin for mild inflammatory acne. No drug, no ultraviolet, and no downtime. It is not photodynamic therapy, which applies a drug first and is a far stronger treatment.
Photodynamic Therapy: A light-activated drug applied in the office, then switched on with a lamp or laser. It is the strongest non-drug option for inflammatory acne, and the downtime is a real week.


Choose for mild inflammatory acne when you want a painless, drug-free add-on with no downtime — expect modest results.
Choose to treat a whole area of sun damage at once — or as a strong non-drug option for stubborn acne — with a real week of downtime.
Can you have both?
Blue light is often the light source used to activate the cream in photodynamic therapy. On its own, blue light is milder.
It can be light alone for acne or part of photodynamic therapy.
Discomfort, results and aftercare vary between them.
A photosensitizing medicine changes the treatment.
Light avoidance is needed after photodynamic therapy.
A photosensitizing medicine is activated by a set light exposure.
It is used for actinic keratoses and some superficial lesions.
It is not ordinary LED or UV treatment.
Sunscreen alone may not prevent activation.

Activates PDT medicine for sun damage.

Clears 75–90% of spots.

Treats superficial types.

Modest reduction in inflamed spots.

Used for stubborn acne.

Doesn't change scars.

Doesn't clear clogged pores.

Needs excision.

Light can darken patches.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Blue light reaches the skin: A selected light regimen exposes the treatment area. Bacterial porphyrins absorb light: Reactive molecules can damage susceptible acne bacteria. Inflammatory acne may improve: Response varies; blue light alone is different from drug-assisted PDT.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
A photosensitizer is applied: The selected medicine accumulates in the prepared treatment area. Light activates the medicine: A matched light regimen produces reactive molecules. Selected cells are damaged: Inflammation and healing follow; treatment response varies.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Before you book: What is included: Ask whether a drug goes on the skin first.
2 weeks before: Sun and tanning: Avoid sun and tanning for 2 weeks.
Before you book: Time off: Clear several days, especially the 48 hours after, when you must stay out of sunlight and bright indoor light.
5 to 7 days before: Actives: Stop retinoids and exfoliating acids.
Clean face: Makeup, sunscreen and thick moisturizer block the light.
Clean face: Come with a clean, bare face.
Skin is cleansed.
Photos, consent covering the off-label use and the downtime, and a medication review.
Opaque goggles go on, the panel sits a few inches from your face, and the light runs 10 to 20 minutes.
Very bright even through closed eyelids, and mildly warm. It does not hurt. A mild headache or eye strain afterward happens occasionally, usually from loose goggles.
Skin is cleaned and degreased, sometimes with microdermabrasion or an acetone wipe, so the drug soaks in evenly.
The solution goes on and you wait 20 minutes to 3 hours in a dim room. Then eye shields go on and you sit under a blue or red light for 8 to 20 minutes, or a laser or IPL is passed over. Stinging builds and peaks at the end; cold air helps.
Skin may look slightly flushed for an hour.
The least comfortable procedure on this list.
Days 1 to 2: Slight dryness or tightness.
After photodynamic therapy: A drug on the skin first changes everything — several days of redness, swelling and peeling, and no daylight for about 48 hours.
First 48 hours: Stay strictly out of sunlight and bright indoor light; daylight through a window can trigger a severe reaction.
Days 4 to 10: Peeling and flaking, sometimes in sheets.
Weeks 1 to 2: Inflamed spots settle faster.
Weeks 1 to 2: An acne flare is common in the first week or two, before improvement starts.
4–8 weeks
2–4 weeks
Weeks to months
Treated spots clear; new ones may form
In the US, blue light alone is one of the cheapest in-office treatments, often an add-on to a facial or sold in packages, commonly well under $100 a session.
In the US, PDT for acne generally costs about $400 to $1,500 per session, so a course commonly lands between $800 and $4,000.
Insurance almost never covers blue light for acne, which counts as cosmetic.
Insurance does not cover PDT for acne, because the approved indication is precancerous sun damage.
No, and this is the most common mix-up. Photodynamic therapy puts a photosensitizing drug on the skin and waits an hour or more before the light. That drug causes several days of redness, swelling and peeling. Blue light alone has no drug and no downtime.
For small inflamed spots, modestly. Trials show fewer inflamed lesions over several weeks. It does little for blackheads and whiteheads, does not reach cysts, and is weaker than benzoyl peroxide.
Studies measure change at four to twelve weeks with two sessions a week. Eight weeks is a fair test.
The devices are bright, which is why goggles are used. Keep them on the whole session, and ask about eye protection if you have a retinal condition or past eye surgery.
Yes, though doing both at once adds little. A home device used consistently is often more practical than a course of appointments, and the LED light therapy page covers that evidence.
No, and it may make it worse. Visible light drives pigment in skin prone to melasma, which needs pigment treatment and daily tinted mineral sunscreen.
Not in the US. It is FDA-approved for precancerous sun spots; using it for acne is off-label. That is legal and common, but it means no standard protocol and results that vary between clinics.
Plan for 5 to 7 days of a visibly red, then swollen, then peeling face, with the worst in the first 48 hours. It is closer to a medium-depth peel than a laser facial.
The drug is still in your skin, and sunlight — including through a car or office window — activates it and can cause a severe burn. This is the most important instruction of the treatment.
No. Improvement typically lasts 6 to 12 months and repeat courses are often needed. It does not treat scars or existing brown marks.
It can be done, but the risk of lasting dark patches is meaningfully higher, because the treatment works by causing strong inflammation. A shorter incubation, a lower light dose and an experienced provider make a large difference.