It targets oil glands.
The 1726-nm wavelength heats sebaceous structures.
1726 nm Laser: A laser tuned to heat and shrink oil glands. It is the first laser class cleared to treat acne itself, and it works on all skin tones. Three sessions, and results arrive slowly.
Photodynamic Therapy: A light-activated drug applied in the office, then switched on with a lamp or laser. It is the strongest non-drug option for inflammatory acne, and the downtime is a real week.


Choose for ongoing acne when you want a drug-free option that treats the oil gland itself, and can wait months for results.
Choose to treat a whole area of sun damage at once — or as a strong non-drug option for stubborn acne — with a real week of downtime.
Can you have both?
Both are in-office treatments for stubborn acne. Most people choose one; photodynamic therapy has more downtime and sun sensitivity.
The 1726-nm wavelength heats sebaceous structures.
Studies report improvement in some patients.
Device, cooling and patient selection matter.
Severe acne and scarring need effective care.
A photosensitizing medicine is activated by a set light exposure.
It is used for actinic keratoses and some superficial lesions.
It is not ordinary LED or UV treatment.
Sunscreen alone may not prevent activation.

Clears 75–90% of spots.

Reduces breakouts in early studies.

Lowers oil production.

Treats superficial types.

Used for stubborn acne.

Not studied for rosacea.

Doesn't change scars.

Needs excision.

Light can darken patches.
Face and back; the acne-affected treatment area is assessed individually.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Laser energy reaches sebaceous tissue: A selected device delivers 1726 nm light with skin cooling. Sebaceous structures absorb light: The treatment creates a targeted thermal response. Acne activity may decrease: Improvement develops over time and varies among patients.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
A photosensitizer is applied: The selected medicine accumulates in the prepared treatment area. Light activates the medicine: A matched light regimen produces reactive molecules. Selected cells are damaged: Inflammation and healing follow; treatment response varies.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
2 weeks before: Sun and tanning: Avoid sun and tanning for 2 weeks.
Before you book: Time off: Clear several days, especially the 48 hours after, when you must stay out of sunlight and bright indoor light.
Sun: Avoid sunburn.
3 to 5 days before: Retinoids: Stop topical retinoids for 3 to 5 days if asked.
5 to 7 days before: Actives: Stop retinoids and exfoliating acids.
Clean skin: Clean skin, no makeup.
Photos matter here, because progress is gradual.
Photos, consent covering the off-label use and the downtime, and a medication review.
Eye shields on, the handpiece pressed on section by section.
Each pulse is a deep, hot snap against a cold plate. A full face takes about 30 minutes, often with a faint burnt smell from surface hairs. It hurts more than most laser facials, and numbing cream only takes the edge off.
Skin is cleaned and degreased, sometimes with microdermabrasion or an acetone wipe, so the drug soaks in evenly.
The solution goes on and you wait 20 minutes to 3 hours in a dim room. Then eye shields go on and you sit under a blue or red light for 8 to 20 minutes, or a laser or IPL is passed over. Stinging builds and peaks at the end; cold air helps.
Red and slightly swollen, like mild sunburn.
The least comfortable procedure on this list.
Redness, warmth and mild swelling for a few hours to a day.
Days 1 to 3: Redness settles; skin may feel rough or dry.
First 48 hours: Stay strictly out of sunlight and bright indoor light; daylight through a window can trigger a severe reaction.
Days 4 to 10: Peeling and flaking, sometimes in sheets.
Weeks 1 to 4: New spots are common, especially after the first session.
Weeks 1 to 2: An acne flare is common in the first week or two, before improvement starts.
3–6 months after the last session
2–4 weeks
1–2 years in many; some need maintenance
Treated spots clear; new ones may form
In the US a three-session course runs about $2,500 to $4,500, sold as a package.
In the US, PDT for acne generally costs about $400 to $1,500 per session, so a course commonly lands between $800 and $4,000.
Insurance does not cover it — acne is medical, but this counts as elective.
Insurance does not cover PDT for acne, because the approved indication is precancerous sun damage.
No head-to-head trial exists. Both use the same wavelength with similar results. Accure adds real-time temperature monitoring; AviClear has been in use longer. Operator experience matters more than the device.
Not for everyone. Isotretinoin is more reliable and durable for severe acne, and far cheaper. The laser suits people who cannot or will not take it, or whose moderate acne failed topicals.
A flare in the first few weeks is expected — damaged glands empty out and inflammation rises before it falls. It usually settles by week 4 to 6.
Improvement holds out to one and two years in many patients, but the data is limited and mostly industry-funded. Some need maintenance. Nobody can promise permanence yet.
Yes. It targets oil, not pigment, so it is one of the few acne lasers cleared for all skin types including the deepest. Heat can still leave dark patches, so settings and aftercare matter.
Not in the US. It is FDA-approved for precancerous sun spots; using it for acne is off-label. That is legal and common, but it means no standard protocol and results that vary between clinics.
Plan for 5 to 7 days of a visibly red, then swollen, then peeling face, with the worst in the first 48 hours. It is closer to a medium-depth peel than a laser facial.
The drug is still in your skin, and sunlight — including through a car or office window — activates it and can cause a severe burn. This is the most important instruction of the treatment.
No. Improvement typically lasts 6 to 12 months and repeat courses are often needed. It does not treat scars or existing brown marks.
It can be done, but the risk of lasting dark patches is meaningfully higher, because the treatment works by causing strong inflammation. A shorter incubation, a lower light dose and an experienced provider make a large difference.