It means two different treatments.
It can be light alone for acne or part of photodynamic therapy.
Blue Light Therapy: Visible blue light, around 415 nm, shone on the skin for mild inflammatory acne. No drug, no ultraviolet, and no downtime. It is not photodynamic therapy, which applies a drug first and is a far stronger treatment.
Cortisone Injection: A tiny shot of diluted steroid into one inflamed acne cyst. It flattens that spot in a few days. It treats the bump, not the acne.


Choose for mild inflammatory acne when you want a painless, drug-free add-on with no downtime — expect modest results.
Choose for one painful acne cyst that needs to flatten fast, or for keloids and patchy hair loss.
Can you have both?
A cortisone injection can calm a single painful cyst at any point during blue light treatment.
It can be light alone for acne or part of photodynamic therapy.
Discomfort, results and aftercare vary between them.
A photosensitizing medicine changes the treatment.
Light avoidance is needed after photodynamic therapy.
An intralesional steroid calms local inflammation or scarring.
It is not a systemic steroid treatment.
Infected or uncertain lesions should not be injected.
Skin thinning, fat loss and pigment change may persist.

Activates PDT medicine for sun damage.

Flattens a painful cyst within days.

Softens and flattens raised scars.

Regrows hair in patches.

Calms an inflamed cyst.

Modest reduction in inflamed spots.

Doesn't change scars.

Doesn't clear clogged pores.

Not for clogged pores.

Can cause dents in skin.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
The specific lesion, scar or affected patch determines the treatment site; there is no fixed body distribution.
Blue light reaches the skin: A selected light regimen exposes the treatment area. Bacterial porphyrins absorb light: Reactive molecules can damage susceptible acne bacteria. Inflammatory acne may improve: Response varies; blue light alone is different from drug-assisted PDT.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Medicine is placed in a lesion: A clinician injects an appropriate corticosteroid preparation. Inflammatory signaling decreases: The steroid reduces local immune and inflammatory activity. The lesion may soften or flatten: Response depends on the condition, dose, and placement.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Before you book: What is included: Ask whether a drug goes on the skin first.
Do not pick: Do not pick, squeeze or heat the spot.
Clean face: Makeup, sunscreen and thick moisturizer block the light.
Clean face: Come with a clean, bare face.
Clean skin: Wash your face and skip makeup on the area.
Skin is cleansed.
The provider checks that the spot is an inflamed acne cyst and not a boil.
Opaque goggles go on, the panel sits a few inches from your face, and the light runs 10 to 20 minutes.
Very bright even through closed eyelids, and mildly warm. It does not hurt. A mild headache or eye strain afterward happens occasionally, usually from loose goggles.
The skin is wiped with alcohol.
A very fine needle goes just into the bump and a small amount of fluid goes in, under 10 seconds per spot. The sting is sharp for a few seconds, worse if the cyst is already tender, but most people rate it lower than they expect. Numbing does not help much — the needle stick is the whole procedure.
Skin may look slightly flushed for an hour.
A tiny red dot, sometimes a small raised bleb that flattens within an hour.
Days 1 to 2: Slight dryness or tightness.
After photodynamic therapy: A drug on the skin first changes everything — several days of redness, swelling and peeling, and no daylight for about 48 hours.
Days 1 to 2: The bump softens and the ache fades.
First few days: A pinprick mark, sometimes a small bruise, fading over a few days.
Days 3 to 7: Most cysts are flat.
Weeks 1 to 2: Inflamed spots settle faster.
4–8 weeks
24–48 hours for a cyst
Weeks to months
Treats only that spot
In the US, blue light alone is one of the cheapest in-office treatments, often an add-on to a facial or sold in packages, commonly well under $100 a session.
Roughly $50 to $250 per office visit in the US, usually billed as an office visit plus a procedure charge rather than per spot.
Insurance almost never covers blue light for acne, which counts as cosmetic.
Insurance often covers it, since acne cysts count as medical rather than cosmetic.
No, and this is the most common mix-up. Photodynamic therapy puts a photosensitizing drug on the skin and waits an hour or more before the light. That drug causes several days of redness, swelling and peeling. Blue light alone has no drug and no downtime.
For small inflamed spots, modestly. Trials show fewer inflamed lesions over several weeks. It does little for blackheads and whiteheads, does not reach cysts, and is weaker than benzoyl peroxide.
Studies measure change at four to twelve weeks with two sessions a week. Eight weeks is a fair test.
The devices are bright, which is why goggles are used. Keep them on the whole session, and ask about eye protection if you have a retinal condition or past eye surgery.
Yes, though doing both at once adds little. A home device used consistently is often more practical than a course of appointments, and the LED light therapy page covers that evidence.
No, and it may make it worse. Visible light drives pigment in skin prone to melasma, which needs pigment treatment and daily tinted mineral sunscreen.
Softening begins within 24 to 48 hours and most spots are flat by day three to five. That figure traces back to one small 1983 trial — it matches what dermatologists see but has never been tested at scale. The mark left behind takes weeks longer, and the injection does not speed that up.
It can. A shallow depression happens when the dose is too strong, so a lower concentration is the main protection. It is uncommon — most dermatologists see it in well under one patient in a hundred — and it often fills in over several months. But it is not reliably temporary. About half the clinicians who do see it report it lasting more than six months, and occasionally it is permanent. That is why you ask what concentration is being used.
Yes, the most common reason people ask. Aim for three to five days ahead so the swelling has time to drop. A same-day injection rarely looks better by that evening.
No. It treats only the spot it is injected into. Preventing the next cyst needs a daily treatment plan, and the guidelines call this an add-on.
Yes. The risk is a lighter patch at the site, more noticeable and slower to fade on deeper skin tones. A lower concentration reduces it, so ask.
Not in the United States, strictly speaking. The FDA labeling lists intralesional use for keloids, alopecia areata, discoid lupus and others. Acne is not on it. Off-label use for an acne cyst is routine, legal and recommended by the American Academy of Dermatology, but almost nobody says it out loud. In the UK, NICE withdrew its recommendation in 2026 after UK-licensed triamcinolone injections stopped being available — a supply and licensing decision, not a safety one.