It targets oil glands.
The 1726-nm wavelength heats sebaceous structures.
1726 nm Laser: A laser tuned to heat and shrink oil glands. It is the first laser class cleared to treat acne itself, and it works on all skin tones. Three sessions, and results arrive slowly.
Comedone Extraction: A provider clears blackheads and whiteheads with a small tool. The result is immediate and temporary — pores refill within weeks unless a daily treatment changes them.


Choose for ongoing acne when you want a drug-free option that treats the oil gland itself, and can wait months for results.
Choose for an instant clear-out of blackheads, whiteheads or milia — temporary unless a daily treatment keeps pores clear.
Can you have both?
Extractions are often done alongside a 1726 nm laser series to clear existing blackheads while the laser shrinks oil glands.
The 1726-nm wavelength heats sebaceous structures.
Studies report improvement in some patients.
Device, cooling and patient selection matter.
Severe acne and scarring need effective care.
Blackheads and whiteheads are removed by a clinician.
It does not address every cause of acne.
Nodules and cysts need a different plan.
Excessive force can cause scarring or pigment change.

Reduces breakouts in early studies.

Lowers oil production.

Clears them the same day.

Removes stubborn milia.

Helps clogged pores alongside treatment.

Not studied for rosacea.

Doesn't change scars.

These bumps aren't clogged pores.

Squeezing worsens redness.
Face and back; the acne-affected treatment area is assessed individually.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Laser energy reaches sebaceous tissue: A selected device delivers 1726 nm light with skin cooling. Sebaceous structures absorb light: The treatment creates a targeted thermal response. Acne activity may decrease: Improvement develops over time and varies among patients.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
An accessible plug is selected: A clinician identifies a suitable comedone. The plug is carefully removed: Controlled extraction lifts out trapped keratin and sebum. The pore opening is cleared: Ongoing acne care helps reduce new blockages.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Prep products: Some providers ask for a retinoid or salicylic acid first, which loosens plugs and makes extraction easier.
Sun: Avoid sunburn.
3 to 5 days before: Retinoids: Stop topical retinoids for 3 to 5 days if asked.
A few days before: Do not pick: No picking or squeezing at home.
Clean skin: Clean skin, no makeup.
Clean face: Come without makeup if you can.
Photos matter here, because progress is gradual.
Skin is cleaned and the provider decides which spots can be extracted.
Eye shields on, the handpiece pressed on section by section.
Each pulse is a deep, hot snap against a cold plate. A full face takes about 30 minutes, often with a faint burnt smell from surface hairs. It hurts more than most laser facials, and numbing cream only takes the edge off.
The provider presses around the pore with a metal loop or two swabs, opening whiteheads first with a tiny sterile needle.
You feel firm pinching at each spot. A full face takes 10 to 30 minutes. Blackheads are pressure more than pain; whiteheads and deeper plugs sting when opened, and a long run is tiring rather than sharp. A painful spot is not forced.
Red and slightly swollen, like mild sunburn.
Red, blotchy skin with pink rings where spots were, sometimes pinpoint scabs.
Redness, warmth and mild swelling for a few hours to a day.
Days 1 to 3: Redness settles; skin may feel rough or dry.
Hours 2 to 6: Redness and small raised rings, sometimes into the next day, with occasional pinpoint scabs where a whitehead was opened.
Days 1 to 2: Redness mostly gone.
Days 3 to 7: Skin looks normal.
Weeks 1 to 4: New spots are common, especially after the first session.
3–6 months after the last session
Immediately
1–2 years in many; some need maintenance
Weeks; pores refill without daily treatment
In the US a three-session course runs about $2,500 to $4,500, sold as a package.
With a dermatologist it is often bundled into an acne visit at no extra charge.
Insurance does not cover it — acne is medical, but this counts as elective.
Insurance sometimes covers it when billed as acne surgery at a medical dermatology visit.
No head-to-head trial exists. Both use the same wavelength with similar results. Accure adds real-time temperature monitoring; AviClear has been in use longer. Operator experience matters more than the device.
Not for everyone. Isotretinoin is more reliable and durable for severe acne, and far cheaper. The laser suits people who cannot or will not take it, or whose moderate acne failed topicals.
A flare in the first few weeks is expected — damaged glands empty out and inflammation rises before it falls. It usually settles by week 4 to 6.
Improvement holds out to one and two years in many patients, but the data is limited and mostly industry-funded. Some need maintenance. Nobody can promise permanence yet.
Yes. It targets oil, not pigment, so it is one of the few acne lasers cleared for all skin types including the deepest. Heat can still leave dark patches, so settings and aftercare matter.
No. It empties the pore that day. It refills over 4 to 8 weeks unless a daily retinoid changes how the pore behaves.
Mostly yes — technique and restraint. A provider uses sterile tools, opens closed spots properly, and stops when a spot resists. Home squeezing causes most brown marks and small scars.
No. Deep, red, painful lumps have no opening to press through, and forcing one makes it worse. A cortisone injection is the answer.
Only in appearance, and briefly. An empty pore looks smaller; pore size does not change.
Blackheads feel like firm pinching. Whiteheads sting for a second when opened. Uncomfortable rather than painful.