It means two different treatments.
It can be light alone for acne or part of photodynamic therapy.
Blue Light Therapy: Visible blue light, around 415 nm, shone on the skin for mild inflammatory acne. No drug, no ultraviolet, and no downtime. It is not photodynamic therapy, which applies a drug first and is a far stronger treatment.
TCA Peel: A chemical peel using trichloroacetic acid. Depending on the strength it is either a light peel with a few days of flaking or a medium peel with a week of visible healing. It carries the highest pigment risk of the peels in common use.


Choose for mild inflammatory acne when you want a painless, drug-free add-on with no downtime — expect modest results.
Choose for ice pick scars (as TCA CROSS) or stronger sun-damage peeling — the highest pigment risk of the common peels.
Can you have both?
A TCA peel needs a week or two to heal. Pause blue light until the skin has fully recovered.
It can be light alone for acne or part of photodynamic therapy.
Discomfort, results and aftercare vary between them.
A photosensitizing medicine changes the treatment.
Light avoidance is needed after photodynamic therapy.
Trichloroacetic acid removes selected layers of skin.
Formulation, application and technique set the depth.
Online acid products should not be used to copy it.
Pigment-prone skin, herpes and scarring history need assessment.

Activates PDT medicine for sun damage.

TCA CROSS raises deep pits.

Clears spots.

Medium peels smooth lines.

Removes sun damage.

Modest reduction in inflamed spots.

Doesn't change scars.

Doesn't clear clogged pores.

Deep peels can darken patches.

Very irritating.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Blue light reaches the skin: A selected light regimen exposes the treatment area. Bacterial porphyrins absorb light: Reactive molecules can damage susceptible acne bacteria. Inflammatory acne may improve: Response varies; blue light alone is different from drug-assisted PDT.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
TCA is applied to selected skin: A clinician chooses the formulation and treatment plan. A controlled injury forms: The acid coagulates proteins in the treated layers. Skin heals and renews: The response depends on peel depth, technique, and skin.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Before you book: What is included: Ask whether a drug goes on the skin first.
4 weeks before: Sun and pigment prep: No tanning or sunburn for a month, or the peel leaves blotchy pigment.
4 weeks before: Sun and pigment prep: On deeper skin tones and with melasma, providers pre-treat 2 to 4 weeks with a pigment-blocking cream.
2 weeks before: Actives and hair removal: Stop retinoids, benzoyl peroxide and exfoliating acids 5 to 7 days before.
2 weeks before: Actives and hair removal: Stop waxing, threading and hair removal creams for 2 weeks.
1 to 2 days before: Antiviral: Antiviral medicine starts a day or two before a medium peel, whether or not you get cold sores.
Clean face: Makeup, sunscreen and thick moisturizer block the light.
Clean face: Come with a clean, bare face.
Skin is cleansed.
Skin is checked and photographed, and antiviral medicine started if it has not been.
Opaque goggles go on, the panel sits a few inches from your face, and the light runs 10 to 20 minutes.
Very bright even through closed eyelids, and mildly warm. It does not hurt. A mild headache or eye strain afterward happens occasionally, usually from loose goggles.
Skin is cleaned and degreased, eyes and lips protected.
The acid goes on with gauze or a brush, section by section, each area watched for frosting before the next layer. No neutralizing step; cool compresses follow. A light peel takes about 20 minutes, a medium 30 to 45. Medium TCA is genuinely uncomfortable, worst early.
Skin may look slightly flushed for an hour.
Frosting fades within about 15 to 30 minutes, leaving skin bright red and swollen.
Days 1 to 2: Slight dryness or tightness.
After photodynamic therapy: A drug on the skin first changes everything — several days of redness, swelling and peeling, and no daylight for about 48 hours.
Days 1 to 3: Skin turns brown or bronze and feels stiff and leathery.
Days 3 to 10: Skin cracks and comes away in sheets, often starting at the mouth.
Weeks 1 to 2: Inflamed spots settle faster.
Weeks 2 to 6: Pinkness settles over several weeks and takes makeup once skin is intact.
4–8 weeks
1–2 weeks after peeling
Weeks to months
Months to years
In the US, blue light alone is one of the cheapest in-office treatments, often an add-on to a facial or sold in packages, commonly well under $100 a session.
In the US a light TCA peel runs about $150 to $300 a session and a medium peel about $400 to $900, more for a full face with sedation.
Insurance almost never covers blue light for acne, which counts as cosmetic.
Insurance does not cover peels for pigment, texture or scarring.
No, and this is the most common mix-up. Photodynamic therapy puts a photosensitizing drug on the skin and waits an hour or more before the light. That drug causes several days of redness, swelling and peeling. Blue light alone has no drug and no downtime.
For small inflamed spots, modestly. Trials show fewer inflamed lesions over several weeks. It does little for blackheads and whiteheads, does not reach cysts, and is weaker than benzoyl peroxide.
Studies measure change at four to twelve weeks with two sessions a week. Eight weeks is a fair test.
The devices are bright, which is why goggles are used. Keep them on the whole session, and ask about eye protection if you have a retinal condition or past eye surgery.
Yes, though doing both at once adds little. A home device used consistently is often more practical than a course of appointments, and the LED light therapy page covers that evidence.
No, and it may make it worse. Visible light drives pigment in skin prone to melasma, which needs pigment treatment and daily tinted mineral sunscreen.
The white film that appears as TCA coagulates protein. It is the intended endpoint and how the provider judges depth. Patchy frost means a superficial peel; a solid white sheet means the upper dermis.
Same acid, different procedure. TCA CROSS places a high strength into the base of individual icepick scars and leaves the rest of the skin alone. A peel treats the whole area at much lower strength. If icepick scars are why you are going, ask for TCA CROSS by name.
About 3 to 5 days for a light peel, 7 to 10 for a medium one, plus several weeks of fading pinkness. Plan the week off before you book.
Light TCA and TCA CROSS are used on all skin tones. Medium-depth TCA across the face risks lasting dark or pale patches on deeper skin tones, so many providers choose a course of lighter peels instead.
TCA is used up as it reacts, so it stops on its own. Water rinses the surface but does not undo the reaction underneath. That is why it goes on in slow layers and is judged by frosting.
A face peel improves discoloration and texture but does not lift indented scars. Icepick scars may respond to TCA CROSS; rolling and boxcar scars usually need subcision, needling or laser.