It uses light-emitting diodes.
LEDs expose skin to visible or near-infrared light.
LED Light Therapy: Panels, masks, and handhelds that shine red, near-infrared, or blue light on the skin. No ultraviolet and no downtime. The science is real, the marketing runs far ahead of it, and most of the studies are small and funded by device makers.
TCA Peel: A chemical peel using trichloroacetic acid. Depending on the strength it is either a light peel with a few days of flaking or a medium peel with a week of visible healing. It carries the highest pigment risk of the peels in common use.


Choose as a gentle, painless add-on for mild acne or fine lines — the marketing runs well ahead of the evidence.
Choose for ice pick scars (as TCA CROSS) or stronger sun-damage peeling — the highest pigment risk of the common peels.
Can you have both?
Red LED is sometimes used after a TCA peel to calm the skin during healing.
LEDs expose skin to visible or near-infrared light.
Wavelength, device and indication all matter.
It differs from UV treatment and photodynamic therapy.
A home-device clearance does not prove every claim.
Trichloroacetic acid removes selected layers of skin.
Formulation, application and technique set the depth.
Online acid products should not be used to copy it.
Pigment-prone skin, herpes and scarring history need assessment.

TCA CROSS raises deep pits.

Clears spots.

Medium peels smooth lines.

Removes sun damage.

Blue light modestly reduces spots.

Red light may slightly smooth.

Doesn't change scars.

Light can darken patches.

Deep peels can darken patches.

Very irritating.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
LEDs deliver selected wavelengths: The device exposes skin to a planned light regimen. Light is absorbed by its targets: Effects depend on wavelength, device, and treatment goal. Response builds over a course: Some regimens may help selected skin concerns; results vary.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
TCA is applied to selected skin: A clinician chooses the formulation and treatment plan. A controlled injury forms: The acid coagulates proteins in the treated layers. Skin heals and renews: The response depends on peel depth, technique, and skin.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
4 weeks before: Sun and pigment prep: No tanning or sunburn for a month, or the peel leaves blotchy pigment.
4 weeks before: Sun and pigment prep: On deeper skin tones and with melasma, providers pre-treat 2 to 4 weeks with a pigment-blocking cream.
2 weeks before: Actives and hair removal: Stop retinoids, benzoyl peroxide and exfoliating acids 5 to 7 days before.
2 weeks before: Actives and hair removal: Stop waxing, threading and hair removal creams for 2 weeks.
Ask your provider: Conditions and medicines: Ask first about lupus, porphyria, another light-sensitive condition, a retinal condition, past eye surgery or seizures.
1 to 2 days before: Antiviral: Antiviral medicine starts a day or two before a medium peel, whether or not you get cold sores.
Before each session: Clean skin: Sunscreen, makeup and thick moisturizer block visible light, mineral sunscreens especially, so a session over sunscreen does little.
Before session one: Baseline photo: Photograph your face in daylight, same spot, no makeup.
Shields and dose: Have the eye shields to hand before you start.
In a clinic, skin is cleansed.
Skin is checked and photographed, and antiviral medicine started if it has not been.
The panel or mask sits close to the skin and runs for 10 to 20 minutes.
Red light is a strong glow even through closed eyes; near-infrared is invisible but feels warm. Shields stay on the whole session. It does not hurt. Expect mild warmth, and sometimes a headache after, usually from light without shields.
Skin is cleaned and degreased, eyes and lips protected.
The acid goes on with gauze or a brush, section by section, each area watched for frosting before the next layer. No neutralizing step; cool compresses follow. A light peel takes about 20 minutes, a medium 30 to 45. Medium TCA is genuinely uncomfortable, worst early.
Skin looks unchanged, maybe flushed for a few minutes.
Frosting fades within about 15 to 30 minutes, leaving skin bright red and swollen.
Days 1 to 2: Dryness or a headache are uncommon and mild.
Days 1 to 3: Skin turns brown or bronze and feels stiff and leathery.
Days 3 to 10: Skin cracks and comes away in sheets, often starting at the mouth.
Weeks 1 to 4: Little visible change.
Weeks 2 to 6: Pinkness settles over several weeks and takes makeup once skin is intact.
Weeks 8 to 12: If a photograph in the same light shows nothing by now, more weeks will not change the answer.
8–12 weeks of regular use
1–2 weeks after peeling
Only while used
Months to years
Home devices are the main market, from roughly $50 for a handheld wand to several hundred dollars for a full-face mask, and higher.
In the US a light TCA peel runs about $150 to $300 a session and a medium peel about $400 to $900, more for a full face with sedation.
Insurance does not cover it.
Insurance does not cover peels for pigment, texture or scarring.
Partly, and modestly. The best-supported uses are blue light for mild inflammatory acne and red or near-infrared light for wound healing. For fine lines and redness there are small positive trials, usually 8 to 12 weeks long. The literature is limited by small numbers, short follow-up, devices that differ from each other, few comparisons against proven treatments, and a lot of manufacturer involvement.
They generally put out less light per minute, which is why home instructions ask for several sessions a week. Over three months a consistently used home device may deliver more total exposure than occasional clinic add-ons. What is not true is that a trial of a clinic panel tells you what a particular mask will do.
No — most are cleared as substantially equivalent to a device already on the market. That is a judgment about similarity and basic safety, not evidence of a useful result.
Yes, and it is the one safety point worth being strict about. These devices are bright, they sit close to the face, and blue wavelengths carry a recognized photochemical hazard to the retina with prolonged exposure. Keep the shields on for the whole session, and ask your doctor first if you have a retinal condition or have had eye surgery.
Give it 8 to 12 weeks of consistent use, then compare a photograph taken on day one in the same light and without makeup. Judging by memory in the mirror is how people persuade themselves either way.
No — it sits on top of those, and the gain from adding it to a good routine is small. Using it instead of treatment for a condition that scars is the one way a low-risk device causes harm.
The white film that appears as TCA coagulates protein. It is the intended endpoint and how the provider judges depth. Patchy frost means a superficial peel; a solid white sheet means the upper dermis.
Same acid, different procedure. TCA CROSS places a high strength into the base of individual icepick scars and leaves the rest of the skin alone. A peel treats the whole area at much lower strength. If icepick scars are why you are going, ask for TCA CROSS by name.
About 3 to 5 days for a light peel, 7 to 10 for a medium one, plus several weeks of fading pinkness. Plan the week off before you book.
Light TCA and TCA CROSS are used on all skin tones. Medium-depth TCA across the face risks lasting dark or pale patches on deeper skin tones, so many providers choose a course of lighter peels instead.
TCA is used up as it reacts, so it stops on its own. Water rinses the surface but does not undo the reaction underneath. That is why it goes on in slow layers and is judged by frosting.
A face peel improves discoloration and texture but does not lift indented scars. Icepick scars may respond to TCA CROSS; rolling and boxcar scars usually need subcision, needling or laser.