It targets oil glands.
The 1726-nm wavelength heats sebaceous structures.
1726 nm Laser: A laser tuned to heat and shrink oil glands. It is the first laser class cleared to treat acne itself, and it works on all skin tones. Three sessions, and results arrive slowly.
Blue Light Therapy: Visible blue light, around 415 nm, shone on the skin for mild inflammatory acne. No drug, no ultraviolet, and no downtime. It is not photodynamic therapy, which applies a drug first and is a far stronger treatment.


Choose for ongoing acne when you want a drug-free option that treats the oil gland itself, and can wait months for results.
Choose for mild inflammatory acne when you want a painless, drug-free add-on with no downtime — expect modest results.
Can you have both?
Both are in-office options for acne. The 1726 nm laser targets oil glands for longer-lasting control; blue light is milder and needs frequent sessions. Most people choose one.
The 1726-nm wavelength heats sebaceous structures.
Studies report improvement in some patients.
Device, cooling and patient selection matter.
Severe acne and scarring need effective care.
It can be light alone for acne or part of photodynamic therapy.
Discomfort, results and aftercare vary between them.
A photosensitizing medicine changes the treatment.
Light avoidance is needed after photodynamic therapy.

Activates PDT medicine for sun damage.

Reduces breakouts in early studies.

Lowers oil production.

Modest reduction in inflamed spots.

Not studied for rosacea.

Doesn't change scars.

Doesn't change scars.

Doesn't clear clogged pores.
Face and back; the acne-affected treatment area is assessed individually.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Laser energy reaches sebaceous tissue: A selected device delivers 1726 nm light with skin cooling. Sebaceous structures absorb light: The treatment creates a targeted thermal response. Acne activity may decrease: Improvement develops over time and varies among patients.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Blue light reaches the skin: A selected light regimen exposes the treatment area. Bacterial porphyrins absorb light: Reactive molecules can damage susceptible acne bacteria. Inflammatory acne may improve: Response varies; blue light alone is different from drug-assisted PDT.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Before you book: What is included: Ask whether a drug goes on the skin first.
Sun: Avoid sunburn.
3 to 5 days before: Retinoids: Stop topical retinoids for 3 to 5 days if asked.
Clean skin: Clean skin, no makeup.
Clean face: Makeup, sunscreen and thick moisturizer block the light.
Clean face: Come with a clean, bare face.
Photos matter here, because progress is gradual.
Skin is cleansed.
Eye shields on, the handpiece pressed on section by section.
Each pulse is a deep, hot snap against a cold plate. A full face takes about 30 minutes, often with a faint burnt smell from surface hairs. It hurts more than most laser facials, and numbing cream only takes the edge off.
Opaque goggles go on, the panel sits a few inches from your face, and the light runs 10 to 20 minutes.
Very bright even through closed eyelids, and mildly warm. It does not hurt. A mild headache or eye strain afterward happens occasionally, usually from loose goggles.
Red and slightly swollen, like mild sunburn.
Skin may look slightly flushed for an hour.
Redness, warmth and mild swelling for a few hours to a day.
Days 1 to 3: Redness settles; skin may feel rough or dry.
Days 1 to 2: Slight dryness or tightness.
After photodynamic therapy: A drug on the skin first changes everything — several days of redness, swelling and peeling, and no daylight for about 48 hours.
Weeks 1 to 4: New spots are common, especially after the first session.
Weeks 1 to 2: Inflamed spots settle faster.
3–6 months after the last session
4–8 weeks
1–2 years in many; some need maintenance
Weeks to months
In the US a three-session course runs about $2,500 to $4,500, sold as a package.
In the US, blue light alone is one of the cheapest in-office treatments, often an add-on to a facial or sold in packages, commonly well under $100 a session.
Insurance does not cover it — acne is medical, but this counts as elective.
Insurance almost never covers blue light for acne, which counts as cosmetic.
No head-to-head trial exists. Both use the same wavelength with similar results. Accure adds real-time temperature monitoring; AviClear has been in use longer. Operator experience matters more than the device.
Not for everyone. Isotretinoin is more reliable and durable for severe acne, and far cheaper. The laser suits people who cannot or will not take it, or whose moderate acne failed topicals.
A flare in the first few weeks is expected — damaged glands empty out and inflammation rises before it falls. It usually settles by week 4 to 6.
Improvement holds out to one and two years in many patients, but the data is limited and mostly industry-funded. Some need maintenance. Nobody can promise permanence yet.
Yes. It targets oil, not pigment, so it is one of the few acne lasers cleared for all skin types including the deepest. Heat can still leave dark patches, so settings and aftercare matter.
No, and this is the most common mix-up. Photodynamic therapy puts a photosensitizing drug on the skin and waits an hour or more before the light. That drug causes several days of redness, swelling and peeling. Blue light alone has no drug and no downtime.
For small inflamed spots, modestly. Trials show fewer inflamed lesions over several weeks. It does little for blackheads and whiteheads, does not reach cysts, and is weaker than benzoyl peroxide.
Studies measure change at four to twelve weeks with two sessions a week. Eight weeks is a fair test.
The devices are bright, which is why goggles are used. Keep them on the whole session, and ask about eye protection if you have a retinal condition or past eye surgery.
Yes, though doing both at once adds little. A home device used consistently is often more practical than a course of appointments, and the LED light therapy page covers that evidence.
No, and it may make it worse. Visible light drives pigment in skin prone to melasma, which needs pigment treatment and daily tinted mineral sunscreen.