It pairs medicine with light.
A photosensitizing medicine is activated by a set light exposure.
Photodynamic Therapy: A light-activated drug applied in the office, then switched on with a lamp or laser. It is the strongest non-drug option for inflammatory acne, and the downtime is a real week.
TCA Peel: A chemical peel using trichloroacetic acid. Depending on the strength it is either a light peel with a few days of flaking or a medium peel with a week of visible healing. It carries the highest pigment risk of the peels in common use.


Choose to treat a whole area of sun damage at once — or as a strong non-drug option for stubborn acne — with a real week of downtime.
Choose for ice pick scars (as TCA CROSS) or stronger sun-damage peeling — the highest pigment risk of the common peels.
Can you have both?
Both can treat sun damage and precancerous spots across an area. One is chosen at a time; space them well apart if both are used.
A photosensitizing medicine is activated by a set light exposure.
It is used for actinic keratoses and some superficial lesions.
It is not ordinary LED or UV treatment.
Sunscreen alone may not prevent activation.
Trichloroacetic acid removes selected layers of skin.
Formulation, application and technique set the depth.
Online acid products should not be used to copy it.
Pigment-prone skin, herpes and scarring history need assessment.

Clears 75–90% of spots.

TCA CROSS raises deep pits.

Treats superficial types.

Clears spots.

Medium peels smooth lines.

Removes sun damage.

Used for stubborn acne.

Needs excision.

Light can darken patches.

Deep peels can darken patches.

Very irritating.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
A photosensitizer is applied: The selected medicine accumulates in the prepared treatment area. Light activates the medicine: A matched light regimen produces reactive molecules. Selected cells are damaged: Inflammation and healing follow; treatment response varies.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
TCA is applied to selected skin: A clinician chooses the formulation and treatment plan. A controlled injury forms: The acid coagulates proteins in the treated layers. Skin heals and renews: The response depends on peel depth, technique, and skin.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
2 weeks before: Sun and tanning: Avoid sun and tanning for 2 weeks.
Before you book: Time off: Clear several days, especially the 48 hours after, when you must stay out of sunlight and bright indoor light.
4 weeks before: Sun and pigment prep: No tanning or sunburn for a month, or the peel leaves blotchy pigment.
4 weeks before: Sun and pigment prep: On deeper skin tones and with melasma, providers pre-treat 2 to 4 weeks with a pigment-blocking cream.
2 weeks before: Actives and hair removal: Stop retinoids, benzoyl peroxide and exfoliating acids 5 to 7 days before.
2 weeks before: Actives and hair removal: Stop waxing, threading and hair removal creams for 2 weeks.
5 to 7 days before: Actives: Stop retinoids and exfoliating acids.
1 to 2 days before: Antiviral: Antiviral medicine starts a day or two before a medium peel, whether or not you get cold sores.
Photos, consent covering the off-label use and the downtime, and a medication review.
Skin is checked and photographed, and antiviral medicine started if it has not been.
Skin is cleaned and degreased, sometimes with microdermabrasion or an acetone wipe, so the drug soaks in evenly.
The solution goes on and you wait 20 minutes to 3 hours in a dim room. Then eye shields go on and you sit under a blue or red light for 8 to 20 minutes, or a laser or IPL is passed over. Stinging builds and peaks at the end; cold air helps.
Skin is cleaned and degreased, eyes and lips protected.
The acid goes on with gauze or a brush, section by section, each area watched for frosting before the next layer. No neutralizing step; cool compresses follow. A light peel takes about 20 minutes, a medium 30 to 45. Medium TCA is genuinely uncomfortable, worst early.
The least comfortable procedure on this list.
Frosting fades within about 15 to 30 minutes, leaving skin bright red and swollen.
First 48 hours: Stay strictly out of sunlight and bright indoor light; daylight through a window can trigger a severe reaction.
Days 1 to 3: Skin turns brown or bronze and feels stiff and leathery.
Days 4 to 10: Peeling and flaking, sometimes in sheets.
Days 3 to 10: Skin cracks and comes away in sheets, often starting at the mouth.
Weeks 1 to 2: An acne flare is common in the first week or two, before improvement starts.
Weeks 2 to 6: Pinkness settles over several weeks and takes makeup once skin is intact.
2–4 weeks
1–2 weeks after peeling
Treated spots clear; new ones may form
Months to years
In the US, PDT for acne generally costs about $400 to $1,500 per session, so a course commonly lands between $800 and $4,000.
In the US a light TCA peel runs about $150 to $300 a session and a medium peel about $400 to $900, more for a full face with sedation.
Insurance does not cover PDT for acne, because the approved indication is precancerous sun damage.
Insurance does not cover peels for pigment, texture or scarring.
Not in the US. It is FDA-approved for precancerous sun spots; using it for acne is off-label. That is legal and common, but it means no standard protocol and results that vary between clinics.
Plan for 5 to 7 days of a visibly red, then swollen, then peeling face, with the worst in the first 48 hours. It is closer to a medium-depth peel than a laser facial.
The drug is still in your skin, and sunlight — including through a car or office window — activates it and can cause a severe burn. This is the most important instruction of the treatment.
No. Improvement typically lasts 6 to 12 months and repeat courses are often needed. It does not treat scars or existing brown marks.
It can be done, but the risk of lasting dark patches is meaningfully higher, because the treatment works by causing strong inflammation. A shorter incubation, a lower light dose and an experienced provider make a large difference.
The white film that appears as TCA coagulates protein. It is the intended endpoint and how the provider judges depth. Patchy frost means a superficial peel; a solid white sheet means the upper dermis.
Same acid, different procedure. TCA CROSS places a high strength into the base of individual icepick scars and leaves the rest of the skin alone. A peel treats the whole area at much lower strength. If icepick scars are why you are going, ask for TCA CROSS by name.
About 3 to 5 days for a light peel, 7 to 10 for a medium one, plus several weeks of fading pinkness. Plan the week off before you book.
Light TCA and TCA CROSS are used on all skin tones. Medium-depth TCA across the face risks lasting dark or pale patches on deeper skin tones, so many providers choose a course of lighter peels instead.
TCA is used up as it reacts, so it stops on its own. Water rinses the surface but does not undo the reaction underneath. That is why it goes on in slow layers and is judged by frosting.
A face peel improves discoloration and texture but does not lift indented scars. Icepick scars may respond to TCA CROSS; rolling and boxcar scars usually need subcision, needling or laser.