It means two different treatments.
It can be light alone for acne or part of photodynamic therapy.
Blue Light Therapy: Visible blue light, around 415 nm, shone on the skin for mild inflammatory acne. No drug, no ultraviolet, and no downtime. It is not photodynamic therapy, which applies a drug first and is a far stronger treatment.
LED Light Therapy: Panels, masks, and handhelds that shine red, near-infrared, or blue light on the skin. No ultraviolet and no downtime. The science is real, the marketing runs far ahead of it, and most of the studies are small and funded by device makers.


Choose for mild inflammatory acne when you want a painless, drug-free add-on with no downtime — expect modest results.
Choose as a gentle, painless add-on for mild acne or fine lines — the marketing runs well ahead of the evidence.
Can you have both?
Blue light is one type of LED therapy, and it is often paired with red light in the same session for acne.
It can be light alone for acne or part of photodynamic therapy.
Discomfort, results and aftercare vary between them.
A photosensitizing medicine changes the treatment.
Light avoidance is needed after photodynamic therapy.
LEDs expose skin to visible or near-infrared light.
Wavelength, device and indication all matter.
It differs from UV treatment and photodynamic therapy.
A home-device clearance does not prove every claim.

Activates PDT medicine for sun damage.

Modest reduction in inflamed spots.

Blue light modestly reduces spots.

Red light may slightly smooth.

Doesn't change scars.

Doesn't clear clogged pores.

Doesn't change scars.

Light can darken patches.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Blue light reaches the skin: A selected light regimen exposes the treatment area. Bacterial porphyrins absorb light: Reactive molecules can damage susceptible acne bacteria. Inflammatory acne may improve: Response varies; blue light alone is different from drug-assisted PDT.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
LEDs deliver selected wavelengths: The device exposes skin to a planned light regimen. Light is absorbed by its targets: Effects depend on wavelength, device, and treatment goal. Response builds over a course: Some regimens may help selected skin concerns; results vary.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Before you book: What is included: Ask whether a drug goes on the skin first.
Ask your provider: Conditions and medicines: Ask first about lupus, porphyria, another light-sensitive condition, a retinal condition, past eye surgery or seizures.
Clean face: Makeup, sunscreen and thick moisturizer block the light.
Clean face: Come with a clean, bare face.
Before each session: Clean skin: Sunscreen, makeup and thick moisturizer block visible light, mineral sunscreens especially, so a session over sunscreen does little.
Before session one: Baseline photo: Photograph your face in daylight, same spot, no makeup.
Shields and dose: Have the eye shields to hand before you start.
Skin is cleansed.
In a clinic, skin is cleansed.
Opaque goggles go on, the panel sits a few inches from your face, and the light runs 10 to 20 minutes.
Very bright even through closed eyelids, and mildly warm. It does not hurt. A mild headache or eye strain afterward happens occasionally, usually from loose goggles.
The panel or mask sits close to the skin and runs for 10 to 20 minutes.
Red light is a strong glow even through closed eyes; near-infrared is invisible but feels warm. Shields stay on the whole session. It does not hurt. Expect mild warmth, and sometimes a headache after, usually from light without shields.
Skin may look slightly flushed for an hour.
Skin looks unchanged, maybe flushed for a few minutes.
Days 1 to 2: Slight dryness or tightness.
After photodynamic therapy: A drug on the skin first changes everything — several days of redness, swelling and peeling, and no daylight for about 48 hours.
Days 1 to 2: Dryness or a headache are uncommon and mild.
Weeks 1 to 2: Inflamed spots settle faster.
Weeks 1 to 4: Little visible change.
Weeks 8 to 12: If a photograph in the same light shows nothing by now, more weeks will not change the answer.
4–8 weeks
8–12 weeks of regular use
Weeks to months
Only while used
In the US, blue light alone is one of the cheapest in-office treatments, often an add-on to a facial or sold in packages, commonly well under $100 a session.
Home devices are the main market, from roughly $50 for a handheld wand to several hundred dollars for a full-face mask, and higher.
Insurance almost never covers blue light for acne, which counts as cosmetic.
Insurance does not cover it.
No, and this is the most common mix-up. Photodynamic therapy puts a photosensitizing drug on the skin and waits an hour or more before the light. That drug causes several days of redness, swelling and peeling. Blue light alone has no drug and no downtime.
For small inflamed spots, modestly. Trials show fewer inflamed lesions over several weeks. It does little for blackheads and whiteheads, does not reach cysts, and is weaker than benzoyl peroxide.
Studies measure change at four to twelve weeks with two sessions a week. Eight weeks is a fair test.
The devices are bright, which is why goggles are used. Keep them on the whole session, and ask about eye protection if you have a retinal condition or past eye surgery.
Yes, though doing both at once adds little. A home device used consistently is often more practical than a course of appointments, and the LED light therapy page covers that evidence.
No, and it may make it worse. Visible light drives pigment in skin prone to melasma, which needs pigment treatment and daily tinted mineral sunscreen.
Partly, and modestly. The best-supported uses are blue light for mild inflammatory acne and red or near-infrared light for wound healing. For fine lines and redness there are small positive trials, usually 8 to 12 weeks long. The literature is limited by small numbers, short follow-up, devices that differ from each other, few comparisons against proven treatments, and a lot of manufacturer involvement.
They generally put out less light per minute, which is why home instructions ask for several sessions a week. Over three months a consistently used home device may deliver more total exposure than occasional clinic add-ons. What is not true is that a trial of a clinic panel tells you what a particular mask will do.
No — most are cleared as substantially equivalent to a device already on the market. That is a judgment about similarity and basic safety, not evidence of a useful result.
Yes, and it is the one safety point worth being strict about. These devices are bright, they sit close to the face, and blue wavelengths carry a recognized photochemical hazard to the retina with prolonged exposure. Keep the shields on for the whole session, and ask your doctor first if you have a retinal condition or have had eye surgery.
Give it 8 to 12 weeks of consistent use, then compare a photograph taken on day one in the same light and without makeup. Judging by memory in the mirror is how people persuade themselves either way.
No — it sits on top of those, and the gain from adding it to a good routine is small. Using it instead of treatment for a condition that scars is the one way a low-risk device causes harm.