It means two different treatments.
It can be light alone for acne or part of photodynamic therapy.
Blue Light Therapy: Visible blue light, around 415 nm, shone on the skin for mild inflammatory acne. No drug, no ultraviolet, and no downtime. It is not photodynamic therapy, which applies a drug first and is a far stronger treatment.
Cryotherapy: Liquid nitrogen is sprayed or dabbed onto a spot to freeze and destroy it. It is a standard treatment for warts, precancerous sun spots and some harmless growths. It commonly leaves a pale mark that does not fully come back.


Choose for mild inflammatory acne when you want a painless, drug-free add-on with no downtime — expect modest results.
Choose for quick removal of warts, sun-damage spots or harmless growths — accepting a possible pale mark.
Can you have both?
They treat different things: blue light for acne, cryotherapy for warts and precancerous spots. They are not used for the same problem.
It can be light alone for acne or part of photodynamic therapy.
Discomfort, results and aftercare vary between them.
A photosensitizing medicine changes the treatment.
Light avoidance is needed after photodynamic therapy.
Liquid nitrogen destroys selected tissue through freezing and thawing.
It is used for benign or precancerous spots.
Nothing remains for microscopic examination.
A diagnosis is needed first.

Activates PDT medicine for sun damage.

A first-line treatment.

Clears precancers.

Removes growths.

Freezes small tags.

Modest reduction in inflamed spots.

Injections work better.

Doesn't change scars.

Doesn't clear clogged pores.

Needs excision.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
The specific lesion, scar or affected patch determines the treatment site; there is no fixed body distribution.
Blue light reaches the skin: A selected light regimen exposes the treatment area. Bacterial porphyrins absorb light: Reactive molecules can damage susceptible acne bacteria. Inflammatory acne may improve: Response varies; blue light alone is different from drug-assisted PDT.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
A selected lesion is frozen: A clinician applies liquid nitrogen to the treatment area. Cold injures the tissue: A controlled freeze-thaw response damages the target. The treated area sheds and heals: A blister or crust may form; repeat treatment can be needed.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Before you book: What is included: Ask whether a drug goes on the skin first.
A few days before: Thick warts: Soaking and filing the wart with a pumice stone or emery board helps the freeze reach the wart, not the callus on top.
Ask your provider: Several spots: If more than one spot is planned, ask to start with one and see how the skin heals.
Clean face: Makeup, sunscreen and thick moisturizer block the light.
Clean face: Come with a clean, bare face.
Skin is cleansed.
The spot is examined first — the most important part of the visit.
Opaque goggles go on, the panel sits a few inches from your face, and the light runs 10 to 20 minutes.
Very bright even through closed eyelids, and mildly warm. It does not hurt. A mild headache or eye strain afterward happens occasionally, usually from loose goggles.
Liquid nitrogen is sprayed or dabbed on until a white frozen halo covers the spot and a small margin.
A sun spot takes seconds; a wart takes longer and is usually thawed and frozen again the same visit. It burns and stings, peaking as the skin thaws, then aches for a few hours. Fingertips, toes, soles and ears are sorest. Brief and unpleasant, not severe.
Skin may look slightly flushed for an hour.
Red, swollen and tender, sometimes blistering within the hour.
Days 1 to 2: Slight dryness or tightness.
After photodynamic therapy: A drug on the skin first changes everything — several days of redness, swelling and peeling, and no daylight for about 48 hours.
Days 1 to 3: A clear or blood-filled blister is expected, not a sign anything went wrong.
Days 4 to 14: The blister dries into a dark crust with the growth on top, and lifts off on its own over one to two weeks.
Weeks 1 to 2: Inflamed spots settle faster.
Weeks 2 to 8: New skin is pink and delicate.
4–8 weeks
1–3 weeks
Weeks to months
Permanent for growths; warts may need repeats
In the US, blue light alone is one of the cheapest in-office treatments, often an add-on to a facial or sold in packages, commonly well under $100 a session.
Cosmetic prices vary a lot and are usually quoted per lesion or per visit, cheaper per spot when several are done at once.
Insurance almost never covers blue light for acne, which counts as cosmetic.
In the US, freezing warts and precancerous sun spots is billed as medical treatment, so you pay your copay or whatever the deductible has not covered.
No, and this is the most common mix-up. Photodynamic therapy puts a photosensitizing drug on the skin and waits an hour or more before the light. That drug causes several days of redness, swelling and peeling. Blue light alone has no drug and no downtime.
For small inflamed spots, modestly. Trials show fewer inflamed lesions over several weeks. It does little for blackheads and whiteheads, does not reach cysts, and is weaker than benzoyl peroxide.
Studies measure change at four to twelve weeks with two sessions a week. Eight weeks is a fair test.
The devices are bright, which is why goggles are used. Keep them on the whole session, and ask about eye protection if you have a retinal condition or past eye surgery.
Yes, though doing both at once adds little. A home device used consistently is often more practical than a course of appointments, and the LED light therapy page covers that evidence.
No, and it may make it worse. Visible light drives pigment in skin prone to melasma, which needs pigment treatment and daily tinted mineral sunscreen.
Often. Pigment cells die at milder cold than the growth, so most effective freezes take some color out. Some returns over months; a good part does not. The mark is usually a little wider than the spot and stands out far more on deeper skin tones — worth discussing before you agree.
No. Freezing destroys the tissue without a diagnosis, so a skin cancer can heal over at the surface while it keeps growing underneath. Anything pigmented, new or changing gets examined and sampled, and moles that need removing are cut out and sent to a laboratory. Same for at-home freezing and mole removal pens.
A sharp burning sting for ten to thirty seconds during the freeze and the thaw, then an ache for a few hours. Fingers, toes, soles and ears are worst. Brief and genuinely unpleasant rather than severe, and ordinary painkillers are enough.
Normal, and it is how the treatment works — the skin separates and lifts the growth off with the blister roof. Leave it alone and cover it. If it is large, tense and painful, the clinic can drain it, which beats tearing the roof off yourself.
Usually several, every two to four weeks. Many clear over three to six treatments, some need more, and some never respond. Salicylic acid at home in between improves the odds. If nothing has changed after three or four sessions, ask about a different approach.
No. They use a propellant gas much warmer than liquid nitrogen and harder to aim, so they are weaker on thick and plantar warts. They can still blister and leave a pale mark. Not for the face, and never on a mole or an unexamined spot.