It is a nonablative fractional laser.
Clear + Brilliant treats selected cosmetic skin concerns.
Clear + Brilliant: A low-energy fractional laser aimed at dullness, early fine lines, and rough texture. It is the gentlest treatment in this family, with about a day of downtime and a correspondingly small change per session.
LED Light Therapy: Panels, masks, and handhelds that shine red, near-infrared, or blue light on the skin. No ultraviolet and no downtime. The science is real, the marketing runs far ahead of it, and most of the studies are small and funded by device makers.


Choose for gentle brightening and smoother texture with about a day of downtime — small change per session.
Choose as a gentle, painless add-on for mild acne or fine lines — the marketing runs well ahead of the evidence.
Can you have both?
Red LED is sometimes used after Clear + Brilliant to calm the skin. It is safe to combine.
Clear + Brilliant treats selected cosmetic skin concerns.
Options depend on the system and handpiece.
Burns and pigment changes can still occur.
Tanning, pigment changes, herpes and skin disease should be discussed.
LEDs expose skin to visible or near-infrared light.
Wavelength, device and indication all matter.
It differs from UV treatment and photodynamic therapy.
A home-device clearance does not prove every claim.

Evens tone with a series.

Smooths texture.

Softens fine lines.

Blue light modestly reduces spots.

Red light may slightly smooth.

Too gentle.

Too superficial.

Doesn't change scars.

Light can darken patches.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Creates tiny heat zones: Fractional energy treats small columns while sparing nearby tissue. Supports surface renewal: Healing can help improve uneven tone and superficial texture. Remodeling develops gradually: A course may improve skin appearance; response varies.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
LEDs deliver selected wavelengths: The device exposes skin to a planned light regimen. Light is absorbed by its targets: Effects depend on wavelength, device, and treatment goal. Response builds over a course: Some regimens may help selected skin concerns; results vary.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
2 weeks before: Sun and tanning: No tanning, self-tanner or sunburn.
2 weeks before: Sun and tanning: Tanned skin risks blotchy pigment and usually gets the treatment postponed.
Actives and hair removal: Stop retinoids, retinol and exfoliating acids about 3 days before.
Actives and hair removal: No waxing, threading or hair removal creams on the area.
Ask your provider: Conditions and medicines: Ask first about lupus, porphyria, another light-sensitive condition, a retinal condition, past eye surgery or seizures.
Clean face: Clean face, no makeup.
Before each session: Clean skin: Sunscreen, makeup and thick moisturizer block visible light, mineral sunscreens especially, so a session over sunscreen does little.
Before session one: Baseline photo: Photograph your face in daylight, same spot, no makeup.
Shields and dose: Have the eye shields to hand before you start.
Skin is cleaned, and the provider checks what you have stopped using and whether you have had sun.
In a clinic, skin is cleansed.
The cream comes off and a roller handpiece moves over the face in overlapping passes, usually four to eight per area.
It feels warm and prickly and builds with each pass. It takes 15 to 20 minutes. Most people call it a strong tingle, much milder than Fraxel.
The panel or mask sits close to the skin and runs for 10 to 20 minutes.
Red light is a strong glow even through closed eyes; near-infrared is invisible but feels warm. Shields stay on the whole session. It does not hurt. Expect mild warmth, and sometimes a headache after, usually from light without shields.
Pink, hot, sometimes slightly swollen, like a mild sunburn.
Skin looks unchanged, maybe flushed for a few minutes.
Days 1 to 4: Skin feels dry, tight and faintly like fine sandpaper, and often looks duller before it looks better.
Days 1 to 2: Dryness or a headache are uncommon and mild.
Days 5 to 7: The rough layer is gone and skin looks brighter and smoother.
Week 2 onward: The fresh look softens over the next few weeks unless another session follows.
Weeks 1 to 4: Little visible change.
Weeks 8 to 12: If a photograph in the same light shows nothing by now, more weeks will not change the answer.
About 1 week
8–12 weeks of regular use
Months with maintenance
Only while used
A full-face session runs about $300 to $600 in the US, with neck, chest or hands extra.
Home devices are the main market, from roughly $50 for a handheld wand to several hundred dollars for a full-face mask, and higher.
Insurance does not cover this.
Insurance does not cover it.
Depends what you are buying. For generally good skin already on a retinoid and sunscreen, it is reasonable maintenance. For acne scars, established wrinkles or sagging, it is not, and the money goes further elsewhere. One session buys a glow lasting a few weeks.
Same manufacturer, same principle, far less energy. Clear + Brilliant is shallower and gentler, about a day of downtime and much less change per session. Fraxel goes deeper, does more for scars and lines, and costs about a week of downtime.
Redness settles within hours, which is where the phrase comes from. But days two to four bring dryness and fine flaking, and skin looks best five to seven days later. Book a week before an event.
Four to six, two to four weeks apart, then maintenance every one to three months to hold it. One session gives temporary brightening.
Not indented scars — they sit deeper than this reaches. Pores can look smaller because the surface is smoother, but the pore does not change size and the effect fades.
One of the gentler light-based options, used across skin tones, but not risk-free. Dark patches can still happen, settings should be adjusted, and the Permea handpiece carries more risk of worsening pigment.
Partly, and modestly. The best-supported uses are blue light for mild inflammatory acne and red or near-infrared light for wound healing. For fine lines and redness there are small positive trials, usually 8 to 12 weeks long. The literature is limited by small numbers, short follow-up, devices that differ from each other, few comparisons against proven treatments, and a lot of manufacturer involvement.
They generally put out less light per minute, which is why home instructions ask for several sessions a week. Over three months a consistently used home device may deliver more total exposure than occasional clinic add-ons. What is not true is that a trial of a clinic panel tells you what a particular mask will do.
No — most are cleared as substantially equivalent to a device already on the market. That is a judgment about similarity and basic safety, not evidence of a useful result.
Yes, and it is the one safety point worth being strict about. These devices are bright, they sit close to the face, and blue wavelengths carry a recognized photochemical hazard to the retina with prolonged exposure. Keep the shields on for the whole session, and ask your doctor first if you have a retinal condition or have had eye surgery.
Give it 8 to 12 weeks of consistent use, then compare a photograph taken on day one in the same light and without makeup. Judging by memory in the mirror is how people persuade themselves either way.
No — it sits on top of those, and the gain from adding it to a good routine is small. Using it instead of treatment for a condition that scars is the one way a low-risk device causes harm.