It is a supervised peel.
A glycolic acid peel is an alpha-hydroxy acid exfoliation.
Glycolic Acid Peel: A chemical peel that uses glycolic acid, the smallest of the fruit acids. It brightens dull skin, softens rough texture and fades flat brown marks. It works on the surface only, and it has to be neutralized on time.
LED Light Therapy: Panels, masks, and handhelds that shine red, near-infrared, or blue light on the skin. No ultraviolet and no downtime. The science is real, the marketing runs far ahead of it, and most of the studies are small and funded by device makers.


Choose to brighten dull skin and fade flat brown marks with little or no downtime.
Choose as a gentle, painless add-on for mild acne or fine lines — the marketing runs well ahead of the evidence.
Can you have both?
Red LED is sometimes used after a glycolic peel to calm the skin. It is safe to combine.
A glycolic acid peel is an alpha-hydroxy acid exfoliation.
Acidity, contact time and technique matter.
The FDA warns against unsupervised strong peels.
Irritation, recent procedures, herpes and pigment risk are reviewed.
LEDs expose skin to visible or near-infrared light.
Wavelength, device and indication all matter.
It differs from UV treatment and photodynamic therapy.
A home-device clearance does not prove every claim.

Brightens quickly.

Helps alongside lightening creams.

Clears clogged pores.

Fades spots with a series.

Blue light modestly reduces spots.

Red light may slightly smooth.

Too superficial.

Doesn't change scars.

Stings and triggers flushing.

Light can darken patches.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
The peel is applied: A clinician selects the formulation for the skin and goal. Outer cells loosen: Glycolic acid reduces cohesion in the superficial skin layers. The surface renews: Controlled exfoliation can improve selected superficial concerns.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
LEDs deliver selected wavelengths: The device exposes skin to a planned light regimen. Light is absorbed by its targets: Effects depend on wavelength, device, and treatment goal. Response builds over a course: Some regimens may help selected skin concerns; results vary.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
2 weeks before: Sun and tanning: No tanning or sunburn for 2 weeks beforehand, and sunscreen daily.
Pigment cream: On deeper skin tones, and in anyone who marks easily, many providers pre-treat for 2 to 4 weeks with a pigment-blocking cream to lower the chance of dark patches.
Before you book: Events: Do not book a first peel in the days before an event.
Actives and hair removal: Stop retinoids (tretinoin, adapalene, retinol), benzoyl peroxide and exfoliating acids 3 to 5 days before.
Actives and hair removal: Stop waxing, threading and hair removal creams on the area for a week.
Ask your provider: Conditions and medicines: Ask first about lupus, porphyria, another light-sensitive condition, a retinal condition, past eye surgery or seizures.
Before each session: Clean skin: Sunscreen, makeup and thick moisturizer block visible light, mineral sunscreens especially, so a session over sunscreen does little.
Before session one: Baseline photo: Photograph your face in daylight, same spot, no makeup.
Shields and dose: Have the eye shields to hand before you start.
Skin is checked and usually photographed, and you confirm what you stopped using.
In a clinic, skin is cleansed.
Skin is cleaned and degreased, eyes and lips protected, and the acid brushed on in a set order.
The provider watches for even pinkness, then neutralizes or floods the skin with water. It takes about 20 to 30 minutes. The sting is hot and prickly, climbs over 2 to 5 minutes, then stops seconds after neutralizing. Say so if it turns to burning, which is the signal to stop early.
The panel or mask sits close to the skin and runs for 10 to 20 minutes.
Red light is a strong glow even through closed eyes; near-infrared is invisible but feels warm. Shields stay on the whole session. It does not hurt. Expect mild warmth, and sometimes a headache after, usually from light without shields.
Pink, tight skin, a bit like mild windburn.
Skin looks unchanged, maybe flushed for a few minutes.
Day 1 to 3: Skin feels dry and rough and can look slightly darker before it sheds.
Days 1 to 2: Dryness or a headache are uncommon and mild.
Day 3 to 5: Flaking finishes and skin looks brighter underneath.
Week 1 to 2: A few spots in the first week or two as clogged pores clear are common, and settle on their own.
Weeks 1 to 4: Little visible change.
Weeks 8 to 12: If a photograph in the same light shows nothing by now, more weeks will not change the answer.
Within days
8–12 weeks of regular use
Weeks to months with skincare
Only while used
In the US a superficial glycolic peel usually runs about $100 to $250 a session, depending on the city, a medical office versus a spa, and whether it is bundled with a facial.
Home devices are the main market, from roughly $50 for a handheld wand to several hundred dollars for a full-face mask, and higher.
Insurance does not cover peels done for brightness, texture or post-acne marks.
Insurance does not cover it.
Glycolic is water-soluble and works on the surface, so it suits dullness, rough texture and brown marks. Salicylic is oil-soluble and gets inside the pore, so it suits blackheads and whiteheads. Some providers blend the two.
Glycolic keeps working until it is stopped, either with a basic solution or by flooding the skin with water. The provider watches a timer and the skin at the same time. Peels left on too long are how burns happen.
Not on its own. The pH and the contact time matter as much as the number. A well-judged 30% peel can do more than a careless 70% one.
Often only lightly, and sometimes not at all. Fine flaking for a day or two is usual, and no flaking does not mean it failed.
4 to 6 peels, 2 to 4 weeks apart, then maintenance every couple of months. One peel gives roughly a week of brightness.
Yes, and skin on a retinoid usually peels more evenly. Stop it about 3 to 5 days before and restart once flaking has finished.
Partly, and modestly. The best-supported uses are blue light for mild inflammatory acne and red or near-infrared light for wound healing. For fine lines and redness there are small positive trials, usually 8 to 12 weeks long. The literature is limited by small numbers, short follow-up, devices that differ from each other, few comparisons against proven treatments, and a lot of manufacturer involvement.
They generally put out less light per minute, which is why home instructions ask for several sessions a week. Over three months a consistently used home device may deliver more total exposure than occasional clinic add-ons. What is not true is that a trial of a clinic panel tells you what a particular mask will do.
No — most are cleared as substantially equivalent to a device already on the market. That is a judgment about similarity and basic safety, not evidence of a useful result.
Yes, and it is the one safety point worth being strict about. These devices are bright, they sit close to the face, and blue wavelengths carry a recognized photochemical hazard to the retina with prolonged exposure. Keep the shields on for the whole session, and ask your doctor first if you have a retinal condition or have had eye surgery.
Give it 8 to 12 weeks of consistent use, then compare a photograph taken on day one in the same light and without makeup. Judging by memory in the mirror is how people persuade themselves either way.
No — it sits on top of those, and the gain from adding it to a good routine is small. Using it instead of treatment for a condition that scars is the one way a low-risk device causes harm.