It uses light-emitting diodes.
LEDs expose skin to visible or near-infrared light.
LED Light Therapy: Panels, masks, and handhelds that shine red, near-infrared, or blue light on the skin. No ultraviolet and no downtime. The science is real, the marketing runs far ahead of it, and most of the studies are small and funded by device makers.
Microneedling: A pen or roller of fine needles makes thousands of tiny controlled punctures in the skin, which sets off healing and new collagen. It is used mainly for indented acne scars and rough texture. It makes them shallower over a course of sessions, not gone.


Choose as a gentle, painless add-on for mild acne or fine lines — the marketing runs well ahead of the evidence.
Choose for indented acne scars and rough texture with little downtime and low pigment risk — shallower, not gone.
Can you have both?
Red LED is sometimes used after microneedling to calm the skin. It is safe to combine.
LEDs expose skin to visible or near-infrared light.
Wavelength, device and indication all matter.
It differs from UV treatment and photodynamic therapy.
A home-device clearance does not prove every claim.
Fine needles puncture the skin in a controlled way.
Results depend on device, depth and technique.
No radiofrequency energy is involved.
Devices are not cleared for use with every serum or blood product.

Improves rolling and boxcar scars.

Good results with a series.

Softens older marks.

Improves texture.

Blue light modestly reduces spots.

Red light may slightly smooth.

Too deep for needling alone.

Doesn't change scars.

Light can darken patches.

Can spread active breakouts.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
LEDs deliver selected wavelengths: The device exposes skin to a planned light regimen. Light is absorbed by its targets: Effects depend on wavelength, device, and treatment goal. Response builds over a course: Some regimens may help selected skin concerns; results vary.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Fine needles create tiny punctures: A device makes controlled channels in selected skin. Healing signals are released: The tissue response activates repair processes. Collagen remodels gradually: Healing may improve selected scars and skin texture.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Pigment cream: On deeper skin tones, some providers start a pigment-blocking cream a few weeks ahead.
Ask your provider: Conditions and medicines: Ask first about lupus, porphyria, another light-sensitive condition, a retinal condition, past eye surgery or seizures.
Actives and hair removal: Do not arrive tanned or sunburned.
Actives and hair removal: Stop retinoids (tretinoin, adapalene, retinol), benzoyl peroxide and acids 3 to 5 days before.
Actives and hair removal: No waxing, threading or hair removal creams.
Before each session: Clean skin: Sunscreen, makeup and thick moisturizer block visible light, mineral sunscreens especially, so a session over sunscreen does little.
Before session one: Baseline photo: Photograph your face in daylight, same spot, no makeup.
Shields and dose: Have the eye shields to hand before you start.
Clean skin: Come with a clean face and no makeup, and plan not to wear any that day.
Clean skin: If you have active pustules or an infection in the area, move the session.
In a clinic, skin is cleansed.
Skin is checked and photographed, and you confirm what you have stopped using.
The panel or mask sits close to the skin and runs for 10 to 20 minutes.
Red light is a strong glow even through closed eyes; near-infrared is invisible but feels warm. Shields stay on the whole session. It does not hurt. Expect mild warmth, and sometimes a headache after, usually from light without shields.
The pen is passed over the skin in overlapping passes, one area at a time, with sterile gel or saline as a glide.
It sounds like a small vibrating motor and takes 20 to 30 minutes for a full face. Pinpoint bleeding is normal at deeper settings over scars. With good numbing it is uncomfortable rather than painful, a scratchy dragging with pressure.
Skin looks unchanged, maybe flushed for a few minutes.
Skin is bright red, warm and tight, like a strong sunburn, sometimes with faint tracking lines and dots of dried blood.
Days 1 to 2: Dryness or a headache are uncommon and mild.
Days 1 to 5: Redness turns pink and swelling settles, most noticeably around the eyes the first morning.
Weeks 1 to 4: Little visible change.
Weeks 1 to 4: Skin looks normal and nothing appears to be happening.
Weeks 8 to 12: If a photograph in the same light shows nothing by now, more weeks will not change the answer.
Months 2 to 6: Texture keeps improving after the visible healing finishes, which is why the photograph that matters is taken months later, not the week after.
8–12 weeks of regular use
1–3 months after each session
Only while used
Years for scars
Home devices are the main market, from roughly $50 for a handheld wand to several hundred dollars for a full-face mask, and higher.
In the US a full-face session usually runs about $200 to $700, with medical offices at the higher end and packages of three to six cheaper per session.
Insurance does not cover it.
Insurance does not cover microneedling for acne scars, since it is classed as cosmetic.
Partly, and modestly. The best-supported uses are blue light for mild inflammatory acne and red or near-infrared light for wound healing. For fine lines and redness there are small positive trials, usually 8 to 12 weeks long. The literature is limited by small numbers, short follow-up, devices that differ from each other, few comparisons against proven treatments, and a lot of manufacturer involvement.
They generally put out less light per minute, which is why home instructions ask for several sessions a week. Over three months a consistently used home device may deliver more total exposure than occasional clinic add-ons. What is not true is that a trial of a clinic panel tells you what a particular mask will do.
No — most are cleared as substantially equivalent to a device already on the market. That is a judgment about similarity and basic safety, not evidence of a useful result.
Yes, and it is the one safety point worth being strict about. These devices are bright, they sit close to the face, and blue wavelengths carry a recognized photochemical hazard to the retina with prolonged exposure. Keep the shields on for the whole session, and ask your doctor first if you have a retinal condition or have had eye surgery.
Give it 8 to 12 weeks of consistent use, then compare a photograph taken on day one in the same light and without makeup. Judging by memory in the mirror is how people persuade themselves either way.
No — it sits on top of those, and the gain from adding it to a good routine is small. Using it instead of treatment for a condition that scars is the one way a low-risk device causes harm.
No. It makes indented scars shallower and less noticeable over three to six sessions. Rolling and shallow boxcar scars respond best, icepick scars respond poorly, and improvement is partial in every study. That is worth having; complete clearance is not what this treatment does.
Three to six for scarring, four to six weeks apart, then a wait. Texture keeps improving for three to six months after the last session, so do not judge the outcome before then.
With numbing cream on for 30 to 45 minutes it is uncomfortable rather than painful, a scratchy pressure rather than a sharp pain. The forehead, nose and jawline are the worst part, and deeper settings over scars are sharper.
One of the better options, because there is no heat or light for melanin to absorb. Dark marks are still possible if the settings are aggressive or the skin sees sun afterward, and they fade over months. Choose someone who treats deeper skin tones routinely.
Anything at 0.5 mm or deeper is a medical depth and should not be used at home. Needles blunt, home rollers cannot be properly sterilized, and serums through fresh channels have caused lasting lumps of inflammation. Rollers at 0.2 to 0.3 mm are mostly harmless and mostly useless.
Platelet-rich plasma is your own blood, spun down and applied or injected during the session. The evidence that it improves scar results is mixed, and it often doubles the price. A course without it is a reasonable course.