It is a nonablative fractional laser.
Fraxel heats microscopic zones while sparing skin in between.
Fraxel: A laser that heats thousands of microscopic columns in the skin and leaves the skin between them untouched. Used for sun damage, acne scars, and rough texture. It takes a course of treatments and a few days of looking sunburned each time.
LED Light Therapy: Panels, masks, and handhelds that shine red, near-infrared, or blue light on the skin. No ultraviolet and no downtime. The science is real, the marketing runs far ahead of it, and most of the studies are small and funded by device makers.


Choose for acne scars or sun damage with a few days of downtime per session instead of the week-plus of ablative lasers.
Choose as a gentle, painless add-on for mild acne or fine lines — the marketing runs well ahead of the evidence.
Can you have both?
Red LED is sometimes used after Fraxel to calm the skin during healing.
Fraxel heats microscopic zones while sparing skin in between.
Wavelength and device determine the treatment.
It is less intensive than ablative lasers.
Burns, redness and pigment changes can occur.
LEDs expose skin to visible or near-infrared light.
Wavelength, device and indication all matter.
It differs from UV treatment and photodynamic therapy.
A home-device clearance does not prove every claim.

Improves rolling and boxcar scars.

Clears sun damage.

Smooths texture.

Low settings may help some.

Blue light modestly reduces spots.

Red light may slightly smooth.

Too deep for most sessions.

Doesn't change scars.

Can worsen redness.

Light can darken patches.
Face and hands.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Fractional heat zones leave surrounding tissue untreated. Superficial 1927 nm treatment helps fade uneven pigmentation; deeper 1550 nm treatment triggers repair and collagen remodeling.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
LEDs deliver selected wavelengths: The device exposes skin to a planned light regimen. Light is absorbed by its targets: Effects depend on wavelength, device, and treatment goal. Response builds over a course: Some regimens may help selected skin concerns; results vary.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
4 weeks before: Sun: Avoid tanning, self-tanner and sunburn.
Pigment preparation: For deeper skin tones, providers may prescribe a pigment-lowering cream for 2–4 weeks and test near the ear.
Cold sores: Tell your provider; preventive antiviral medicine often starts the day before.
Hair removal: Stop waxing, threading and hair-removal creams.
Actives: Stop retinoids, retinol and acids 3–7 days before.
Ask your provider: Conditions and medicines: Ask first about lupus, porphyria, another light-sensitive condition, a retinal condition, past eye surgery or seizures.
Arrive with clean skin and no makeup.
Arrange a ride if you will have strong settings or oral pain medicine.
Before each session: Clean skin: Sunscreen, makeup and thick moisturizer block visible light, mineral sunscreens especially, so a session over sunscreen does little.
Before session one: Baseline photo: Photograph your face in daylight, same spot, no makeup.
Shields and dose: Have the eye shields to hand before you start.
Skin is cleaned and photographed. Numbing cream stays on for 45–60 minutes.
In a clinic, skin is cleansed.
The laser passes over the skin while cold air cools it.
Expect prickly heat that builds with each pass, often strongly uncomfortable—especially on the forehead and around the mouth.
The panel or mask sits close to the skin and runs for 10 to 20 minutes.
Red light is a strong glow even through closed eyes; near-infrared is invisible but feels warm. Shields stay on the whole session. It does not hurt. Expect mild warmth, and sometimes a headache after, usually from light without shields.
Skin feels hot, red and swollen. Ice packs and a bland ointment are usually applied.
Skin looks unchanged, maybe flushed for a few minutes.
Days 1–2: Redness and swelling, especially around the eyes.
Days 1 to 2: Dryness or a headache are uncommon and mild.
Days 3–7: Rough, bronzed skin flakes away. Do not scrub or pick.
Weeks 1 to 4: Little visible change.
1–3 months: Time to results.
Scar improvement can last years; sun damage can return with sun exposure.
Weeks 8 to 12: If a photograph in the same light shows nothing by now, more weeks will not change the answer.
8–12 weeks of regular use
Only while used
About $900–1,500 for a full face in the US. Smaller areas cost less.
Home devices are the main market, from roughly $50 for a handheld wand to several hundred dollars for a full-face mask, and higher.
Several thousand dollars. Packages may reduce the per-session price.
Cosmetic treatment is not covered. Coverage for surgical or injury scars is uncommon.
Insurance does not cover it.
Three to five, two to four weeks apart. Sun damage sometimes needs fewer, acne scars usually need the full course, and deeper skin tones are treated at lower settings, which means more sessions.
It improves them rather than removing them. Studies of nonablative fractional lasers show partial improvement in scar depth and appearance over a course. Deep icepick scars respond least and are often better treated by combining the laser with subcision or filler.
Plan for a week. Two days of redness and swelling, then a few days of rough, bronzed skin that flakes off. Most people cover it with makeup from day three and look normal by day seven.
With an hour of numbing cream and cold air, most people call it hot and strongly uncomfortable rather than unbearable, and it stops as soon as the laser does. The forehead and around the mouth are the worst.
It can be done, but differently. The main risk is temporary dark patches. Lower settings, more sessions, pre-treatment creams and strict sun protection all lower that risk, and the provider experience with your skin tone matters more than the device.
No, though one device sold under the Fraxel brand is a carbon dioxide laser. The Fraxel most people mean is nonablative, heating the skin without removing the surface. A carbon dioxide laser removes tissue, does more per session, and brings one to two weeks of downtime and more pigment risk.
Partly, and modestly. The best-supported uses are blue light for mild inflammatory acne and red or near-infrared light for wound healing. For fine lines and redness there are small positive trials, usually 8 to 12 weeks long. The literature is limited by small numbers, short follow-up, devices that differ from each other, few comparisons against proven treatments, and a lot of manufacturer involvement.
They generally put out less light per minute, which is why home instructions ask for several sessions a week. Over three months a consistently used home device may deliver more total exposure than occasional clinic add-ons. What is not true is that a trial of a clinic panel tells you what a particular mask will do.
No — most are cleared as substantially equivalent to a device already on the market. That is a judgment about similarity and basic safety, not evidence of a useful result.
Yes, and it is the one safety point worth being strict about. These devices are bright, they sit close to the face, and blue wavelengths carry a recognized photochemical hazard to the retina with prolonged exposure. Keep the shields on for the whole session, and ask your doctor first if you have a retinal condition or have had eye surgery.
Give it 8 to 12 weeks of consistent use, then compare a photograph taken on day one in the same light and without makeup. Judging by memory in the mirror is how people persuade themselves either way.
No — it sits on top of those, and the gain from adding it to a good routine is small. Using it instead of treatment for a condition that scars is the one way a low-risk device causes harm.