It is a nonablative fractional laser.
Clear + Brilliant treats selected cosmetic skin concerns.
Clear + Brilliant: A low-energy fractional laser aimed at dullness, early fine lines, and rough texture. It is the gentlest treatment in this family, with about a day of downtime and a correspondingly small change per session.
Microdermabrasion: A handheld device sands the dead top layer off the skin with fine crystals or a diamond tip while a vacuum lifts the debris away. It leaves skin smoother and brighter for a few days. Newer treatments now do more for acne, pigment and scarring.


Choose for gentle brightening and smoother texture with about a day of downtime — small change per session.
Choose for a quick, comfortable brightening with no downtime — newer treatments do more for acne, pigment and scars.
Can you have both?
Both refresh tone and texture with little downtime. Most people choose one per visit; space them at least 2 weeks apart if alternating.
Clear + Brilliant treats selected cosmetic skin concerns.
Options depend on the system and handpiece.
Burns and pigment changes can still occur.
Tanning, pigment changes, herpes and skin disease should be discussed.
An abrasive tip or crystals with suction remove surface skin.
Changes are cosmetic and temporary.
It differs from surgical dermabrasion.
Active disease, infection and fragile skin need assessment.

Evens tone with a series.

Brightens with a series.

Smooths texture.

Softens fine lines.

Mild improvement.

Too superficial for most scars.

Small, temporary change.

Too gentle.

Too superficial.

Friction worsens redness.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Creates tiny heat zones: Fractional energy treats small columns while sparing nearby tissue. Supports surface renewal: Healing can help improve uneven tone and superficial texture. Remodeling develops gradually: A course may improve skin appearance; response varies.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
A handpiece buffs the surface: Abrasive material or a diamond tip loosens outer cells. Suction collects debris: The device removes loosened material from the surface. Superficial texture may improve: Smoother skin can be temporary; deep scars are not removed.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
2 weeks before: Sun and tanning: No tanning, self-tanner or sunburn.
2 weeks before: Sun and tanning: Tanned skin risks blotchy pigment and usually gets the treatment postponed.
Actives and hair removal: Stop retinoids, retinol and exfoliating acids about 3 days before.
Actives and hair removal: No waxing, threading or hair removal creams on the area.
3 to 5 days before: Actives: Stop retinoids (tretinoin, adapalene, retinol), benzoyl peroxide and exfoliating acids.
Hair removal: Stop waxing, threading and hair removal creams on the area.
Clean face: Clean face, no makeup.
Skin condition: Clean skin, no makeup.
Skin condition: Do not come with a sunburn, a fresh tan, an active cold sore, a rosacea flare or inflamed acne.
Skin is cleaned, and the provider checks what you have stopped using and whether you have had sun.
If crystals are used: Eyes: Contact lenses come out and eye protection goes on.
Skin is cleaned and dried, the provider picks a crystal or diamond tip and sets the suction, and eye protection goes on, which matters more with a crystal machine.
The cream comes off and a roller handpiece moves over the face in overlapping passes, usually four to eight per area.
It feels warm and prickly and builds with each pass. It takes 15 to 20 minutes. Most people call it a strong tingle, much milder than Fraxel.
The handpiece is drawn across taut skin in overlapping passes, usually two or three per area.
A full face takes 20 to 30 minutes. It often finishes with a mask, serum, moisturizer and sunscreen, and is sometimes done just before extractions or a light peel. Not painful, more like fine sandpaper with steady pulling from the vacuum.
Pink, hot, sometimes slightly swollen, like a mild sunburn.
Skin is pink, smooth and slightly tight, a little like mild windburn.
Days 1 to 4: Skin feels dry, tight and faintly like fine sandpaper, and often looks duller before it looks better.
Days 1 to 3: Some people get a couple of days of dryness or fine flaking.
Days 5 to 7: The rough layer is gone and skin looks brighter and smoother.
Days 3 to 7: The dead layer rebuilds, and skin looks and feels its best.
Week 2 onward: The fresh look softens over the next few weeks unless another session follows.
Weeks 1 to 2: The polish fades.
About 1 week
Same day
Months with maintenance
A few days
A full-face session runs about $300 to $600 in the US, with neck, chest or hands extra.
In the US it usually runs about $75 to $200 a session, often bundled inside a facial rather than priced on its own.
Insurance does not cover this.
Insurance does not cover it.
Depends what you are buying. For generally good skin already on a retinoid and sunscreen, it is reasonable maintenance. For acne scars, established wrinkles or sagging, it is not, and the money goes further elsewhere. One session buys a glow lasting a few weeks.
Same manufacturer, same principle, far less energy. Clear + Brilliant is shallower and gentler, about a day of downtime and much less change per session. Fraxel goes deeper, does more for scars and lines, and costs about a week of downtime.
Redness settles within hours, which is where the phrase comes from. But days two to four bring dryness and fine flaking, and skin looks best five to seven days later. Book a week before an event.
Four to six, two to four weeks apart, then maintenance every one to three months to hold it. One session gives temporary brightening.
Not indented scars — they sit deeper than this reaches. Pores can look smaller because the surface is smoother, but the pore does not change size and the effect fades.
One of the gentler light-based options, used across skin tones, but not risk-free. Dark patches can still happen, settings should be adjusted, and the Permea handpiece carries more risk of worsening pigment.
It depends what you want. As a comfortable, low-risk polish before an event or for skin that cannot handle acids, it does what it says. For acne, scarring, wrinkles or pigment, other options have overtaken it, and a superficial peel or a home retinoid will usually do more for the same money.
No. Indented scars sit in the deeper layer and the treatment stops at the dead cells on top. Microneedling, lasers, subcision and filler are what that needs.
Microneedling makes tiny channels into the deeper layer to trigger collagen repair, with a few days of redness. Microdermabrasion sands the surface and never breaks the skin. The similar names cause most of the confusion.
Completely. Dermabrasion is a surgical resurfacing done under anesthesia that sands into the deeper skin, with weeks of recovery and real scarring risk. Microdermabrasion is a surface polish with none of that.
Courses are usually five or six sessions one to two weeks apart, then monthly. The effect of each session fades within days, so it comes down to how often you want that day of smoothness.
Yes, and one of the gentler options, because it uses no acid, heat or light and does not reach the pigment cells. The thing to avoid is over-treatment, since irritation can leave a temporary dark mark.