It is mechanical exfoliation.
An abrasive tip or crystals with suction remove surface skin.
Microdermabrasion: A handheld device sands the dead top layer off the skin with fine crystals or a diamond tip while a vacuum lifts the debris away. It leaves skin smoother and brighter for a few days. Newer treatments now do more for acne, pigment and scarring.
Microneedling: A pen or roller of fine needles makes thousands of tiny controlled punctures in the skin, which sets off healing and new collagen. It is used mainly for indented acne scars and rough texture. It makes them shallower over a course of sessions, not gone.


Choose for a quick, comfortable brightening with no downtime — newer treatments do more for acne, pigment and scars.
Choose for indented acne scars and rough texture with little downtime and low pigment risk — shallower, not gone.
Can you have both?
Microdermabrasion works on the surface; microneedling goes deeper for scars and collagen. Most people choose one, spaced at least a week apart if alternating.
An abrasive tip or crystals with suction remove surface skin.
Changes are cosmetic and temporary.
It differs from surgical dermabrasion.
Active disease, infection and fragile skin need assessment.
Fine needles puncture the skin in a controlled way.
Results depend on device, depth and technique.
No radiofrequency energy is involved.
Devices are not cleared for use with every serum or blood product.

Improves rolling and boxcar scars.

Good results with a series.

Brightens with a series.

Softens older marks.

Improves texture.

Mild improvement.

Too superficial for most scars.

Small, temporary change.

Too deep for needling alone.

Friction worsens redness.

Can spread active breakouts.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
A handpiece buffs the surface: Abrasive material or a diamond tip loosens outer cells. Suction collects debris: The device removes loosened material from the surface. Superficial texture may improve: Smoother skin can be temporary; deep scars are not removed.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Fine needles create tiny punctures: A device makes controlled channels in selected skin. Healing signals are released: The tissue response activates repair processes. Collagen remodels gradually: Healing may improve selected scars and skin texture.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Pigment cream: On deeper skin tones, some providers start a pigment-blocking cream a few weeks ahead.
3 to 5 days before: Actives: Stop retinoids (tretinoin, adapalene, retinol), benzoyl peroxide and exfoliating acids.
Hair removal: Stop waxing, threading and hair removal creams on the area.
Actives and hair removal: Do not arrive tanned or sunburned.
Actives and hair removal: Stop retinoids (tretinoin, adapalene, retinol), benzoyl peroxide and acids 3 to 5 days before.
Actives and hair removal: No waxing, threading or hair removal creams.
Skin condition: Clean skin, no makeup.
Skin condition: Do not come with a sunburn, a fresh tan, an active cold sore, a rosacea flare or inflamed acne.
Clean skin: Come with a clean face and no makeup, and plan not to wear any that day.
Clean skin: If you have active pustules or an infection in the area, move the session.
If crystals are used: Eyes: Contact lenses come out and eye protection goes on.
Skin is cleaned and dried, the provider picks a crystal or diamond tip and sets the suction, and eye protection goes on, which matters more with a crystal machine.
Skin is checked and photographed, and you confirm what you have stopped using.
The handpiece is drawn across taut skin in overlapping passes, usually two or three per area.
A full face takes 20 to 30 minutes. It often finishes with a mask, serum, moisturizer and sunscreen, and is sometimes done just before extractions or a light peel. Not painful, more like fine sandpaper with steady pulling from the vacuum.
The pen is passed over the skin in overlapping passes, one area at a time, with sterile gel or saline as a glide.
It sounds like a small vibrating motor and takes 20 to 30 minutes for a full face. Pinpoint bleeding is normal at deeper settings over scars. With good numbing it is uncomfortable rather than painful, a scratchy dragging with pressure.
Skin is pink, smooth and slightly tight, a little like mild windburn.
Skin is bright red, warm and tight, like a strong sunburn, sometimes with faint tracking lines and dots of dried blood.
Days 1 to 3: Some people get a couple of days of dryness or fine flaking.
Days 1 to 5: Redness turns pink and swelling settles, most noticeably around the eyes the first morning.
Days 3 to 7: The dead layer rebuilds, and skin looks and feels its best.
Weeks 1 to 2: The polish fades.
Weeks 1 to 4: Skin looks normal and nothing appears to be happening.
Months 2 to 6: Texture keeps improving after the visible healing finishes, which is why the photograph that matters is taken months later, not the week after.
Same day
1–3 months after each session
A few days
Years for scars
In the US it usually runs about $75 to $200 a session, often bundled inside a facial rather than priced on its own.
In the US a full-face session usually runs about $200 to $700, with medical offices at the higher end and packages of three to six cheaper per session.
Insurance does not cover it.
Insurance does not cover microneedling for acne scars, since it is classed as cosmetic.
It depends what you want. As a comfortable, low-risk polish before an event or for skin that cannot handle acids, it does what it says. For acne, scarring, wrinkles or pigment, other options have overtaken it, and a superficial peel or a home retinoid will usually do more for the same money.
No. Indented scars sit in the deeper layer and the treatment stops at the dead cells on top. Microneedling, lasers, subcision and filler are what that needs.
Microneedling makes tiny channels into the deeper layer to trigger collagen repair, with a few days of redness. Microdermabrasion sands the surface and never breaks the skin. The similar names cause most of the confusion.
Completely. Dermabrasion is a surgical resurfacing done under anesthesia that sands into the deeper skin, with weeks of recovery and real scarring risk. Microdermabrasion is a surface polish with none of that.
Courses are usually five or six sessions one to two weeks apart, then monthly. The effect of each session fades within days, so it comes down to how often you want that day of smoothness.
Yes, and one of the gentler options, because it uses no acid, heat or light and does not reach the pigment cells. The thing to avoid is over-treatment, since irritation can leave a temporary dark mark.
No. It makes indented scars shallower and less noticeable over three to six sessions. Rolling and shallow boxcar scars respond best, icepick scars respond poorly, and improvement is partial in every study. That is worth having; complete clearance is not what this treatment does.
Three to six for scarring, four to six weeks apart, then a wait. Texture keeps improving for three to six months after the last session, so do not judge the outcome before then.
With numbing cream on for 30 to 45 minutes it is uncomfortable rather than painful, a scratchy pressure rather than a sharp pain. The forehead, nose and jawline are the worst part, and deeper settings over scars are sharper.
One of the better options, because there is no heat or light for melanin to absorb. Dark marks are still possible if the settings are aggressive or the skin sees sun afterward, and they fade over months. Choose someone who treats deeper skin tones routinely.
Anything at 0.5 mm or deeper is a medical depth and should not be used at home. Needles blunt, home rollers cannot be properly sterilized, and serums through fresh channels have caused lasting lumps of inflammation. Rollers at 0.2 to 0.3 mm are mostly harmless and mostly useless.
Platelet-rich plasma is your own blood, spun down and applied or injected during the session. The evidence that it improves scar results is mixed, and it often doubles the price. A course without it is a reasonable course.