It is a botulinum toxin.
Botox is the brand name for onabotulinumtoxinA, given by a trained clinician.
Botox: An injection that temporarily weakens specific facial muscles, so the lines those muscles make soften. It wears off in about three to four months. It does not fill, lift, or improve the quality of the skin.
Clear + Brilliant: A low-energy fractional laser aimed at dullness, early fine lines, and rough texture. It is the gentlest treatment in this family, with about a day of downtime and a correspondingly small change per session.


Choose for lines that appear when you move — frowning, squinting or raising your brows.
Choose for gentle brightening and smoother texture with about a day of downtime — small change per session.
Can you have both?
A common pairing: Botox relaxes lines while Clear + Brilliant refreshes tone and texture. Many clinics do laser first, then Botox, or space them 2 weeks apart.
Botox is the brand name for onabotulinumtoxinA, given by a trained clinician.
Its effect on muscle activity is temporary.
It does not add volume.
Neuromuscular disease, swallowing problems, pregnancy and previous toxin treatment should be discussed.
Clear + Brilliant treats selected cosmetic skin concerns.
Options depend on the system and handpiece.
Burns and pigment changes can still occur.
Tanning, pigment changes, herpes and skin disease should be discussed.

Smooths frown lines and crow's feet.

Stops underarm sweating for months.

Evens tone with a series.

Small studies show less flushing.

Smooths texture.

Softens fine lines.

Lines at rest may need filler.

Doesn't lift loose skin.

Doesn't add volume.

Too gentle.

Too superficial.
Forehead, between the brows, crow’s feet and underarms.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Placed near nerve endings: A clinician injects botulinum toxin into selected muscles. Reduces signal release: The treated nerve ending releases less acetylcholine. Muscle activity relaxes: Movement-related lines can soften as contraction decreases.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Creates tiny heat zones: Fractional energy treats small columns while sparing nearby tissue. Supports surface renewal: Healing can help improve uneven tone and superficial texture. Remodeling develops gradually: A course may improve skin appearance; response varies.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Planning: Timing: Allow at least 2 weeks before an important event; results settle in 10–14 days and bruises may last a week.
2 weeks before: Sun and tanning: No tanning, self-tanner or sunburn.
2 weeks before: Sun and tanning: Tanned skin risks blotchy pigment and usually gets the treatment postponed.
Preparation: Medicines and alcohol: Ask about fish oil, vitamin E and ibuprofen; avoid alcohol for 24 hours.
A few days before: Bruising and alcohol: Never stop a prescribed blood thinner on your own.
Actives and hair removal: Stop retinoids, retinol and exfoliating acids about 3 days before.
Actives and hair removal: No waxing, threading or hair removal creams on the area.
What to bring: Arrive with a clean face, reference photos and clear treatment goals.
Clean face: Clean face, no makeup.
You say what bothers you while the injector watches your face move.
Skin is cleaned, and the provider checks what you have stopped using and whether you have had sun.
The skin is cleaned, then small injections go into the chosen muscles, a few in each area.
The visit runs 10 to 20 minutes. Each point is a sharp sting, then it is over — most people rate it below a blood test. The forehead and between the brows are the most sensitive.
The cream comes off and a roller handpiece moves over the face in overlapping passes, usually four to eight per area.
It feels warm and prickly and builds with each pass. It takes 15 to 20 minutes. Most people call it a strong tingle, much milder than Fraxel.
Small raised bumps like insect bites settle within about 20 to 30 minutes.
Pink, hot, sometimes slightly swollen, like a mild sunburn.
Days 1 to 3: A few people bruise, usually near the eyes.
Days 1 to 4: Skin feels dry, tight and faintly like fine sandpaper, and often looks duller before it looks better.
Days 3 to 5: Movement feels different — heavy, or a muscle that will not quite fire.
Days 10 to 14: The true result.
Days 5 to 7: The rough layer is gone and skin looks brighter and smoother.
Week 2 onward: The fresh look softens over the next few weeks unless another session follows.
Starts in 3–5 days, full at 2 weeks
About 1 week
3–4 months
Months with maintenance
In the US it is priced per unit or per area.
A full-face session runs about $300 to $600 in the US, with neck, chest or hands extra.
Insurance does not cover cosmetic use.
Insurance does not cover this.
Three to four months for most people and areas. The jaw muscle and underarm sweating last longer. Fading is gradual, so movement returns over a few weeks.
A sharp sting for a second or two per injection, several times. Most people find it easier than expected and skip numbing.
Only if the dose says so. Amount and placement decide how much movement you keep, and a lighter dose at a first appointment is reasonable. You can add more at two weeks; you cannot take any away.
There is no antidote, so it has to wear off over weeks to a few months. Some problems can be balanced with a few extra units elsewhere, which is why starting conservatively is safer.
Decades of medical use at doses far larger than cosmetic ones, with no pattern of lasting harm. The main reported change is treated muscles getting somewhat weaker over years, which is the intended effect.
That depends on the muscle and the face, not a standard number. As a rough reference, frown lines between the brows are commonly treated with about 20 units of one common brand. Units are not comparable between brands, so ask which product is used.
Depends what you are buying. For generally good skin already on a retinoid and sunscreen, it is reasonable maintenance. For acne scars, established wrinkles or sagging, it is not, and the money goes further elsewhere. One session buys a glow lasting a few weeks.
Same manufacturer, same principle, far less energy. Clear + Brilliant is shallower and gentler, about a day of downtime and much less change per session. Fraxel goes deeper, does more for scars and lines, and costs about a week of downtime.
Redness settles within hours, which is where the phrase comes from. But days two to four bring dryness and fine flaking, and skin looks best five to seven days later. Book a week before an event.
Four to six, two to four weeks apart, then maintenance every one to three months to hold it. One session gives temporary brightening.
Not indented scars — they sit deeper than this reaches. Pores can look smaller because the surface is smoother, but the pore does not change size and the effect fades.
One of the gentler light-based options, used across skin tones, but not risk-free. Dark patches can still happen, settings should be adjusted, and the Permea handpiece carries more risk of worsening pigment.