It is a nonablative fractional laser.
Clear + Brilliant treats selected cosmetic skin concerns.
Clear + Brilliant: A low-energy fractional laser aimed at dullness, early fine lines, and rough texture. It is the gentlest treatment in this family, with about a day of downtime and a correspondingly small change per session.
TCA Peel: A chemical peel using trichloroacetic acid. Depending on the strength it is either a light peel with a few days of flaking or a medium peel with a week of visible healing. It carries the highest pigment risk of the peels in common use.


Choose for gentle brightening and smoother texture with about a day of downtime — small change per session.
Choose for ice pick scars (as TCA CROSS) or stronger sun-damage peeling — the highest pigment risk of the common peels.
Can you have both?
A TCA peel needs a week or two to heal. Leave at least 4 weeks before or after Clear + Brilliant.
Clear + Brilliant treats selected cosmetic skin concerns.
Options depend on the system and handpiece.
Burns and pigment changes can still occur.
Tanning, pigment changes, herpes and skin disease should be discussed.
Trichloroacetic acid removes selected layers of skin.
Formulation, application and technique set the depth.
Online acid products should not be used to copy it.
Pigment-prone skin, herpes and scarring history need assessment.

TCA CROSS raises deep pits.

Evens tone with a series.

Clears spots.

Medium peels smooth lines.

Removes sun damage.

Smooths texture.

Softens fine lines.

Too gentle.

Too superficial.

Deep peels can darken patches.

Very irritating.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Creates tiny heat zones: Fractional energy treats small columns while sparing nearby tissue. Supports surface renewal: Healing can help improve uneven tone and superficial texture. Remodeling develops gradually: A course may improve skin appearance; response varies.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
TCA is applied to selected skin: A clinician chooses the formulation and treatment plan. A controlled injury forms: The acid coagulates proteins in the treated layers. Skin heals and renews: The response depends on peel depth, technique, and skin.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
2 weeks before: Sun and tanning: No tanning, self-tanner or sunburn.
2 weeks before: Sun and tanning: Tanned skin risks blotchy pigment and usually gets the treatment postponed.
4 weeks before: Sun and pigment prep: No tanning or sunburn for a month, or the peel leaves blotchy pigment.
4 weeks before: Sun and pigment prep: On deeper skin tones and with melasma, providers pre-treat 2 to 4 weeks with a pigment-blocking cream.
2 weeks before: Actives and hair removal: Stop retinoids, benzoyl peroxide and exfoliating acids 5 to 7 days before.
2 weeks before: Actives and hair removal: Stop waxing, threading and hair removal creams for 2 weeks.
Actives and hair removal: Stop retinoids, retinol and exfoliating acids about 3 days before.
Actives and hair removal: No waxing, threading or hair removal creams on the area.
1 to 2 days before: Antiviral: Antiviral medicine starts a day or two before a medium peel, whether or not you get cold sores.
Clean face: Clean face, no makeup.
Skin is cleaned, and the provider checks what you have stopped using and whether you have had sun.
Skin is checked and photographed, and antiviral medicine started if it has not been.
The cream comes off and a roller handpiece moves over the face in overlapping passes, usually four to eight per area.
It feels warm and prickly and builds with each pass. It takes 15 to 20 minutes. Most people call it a strong tingle, much milder than Fraxel.
Skin is cleaned and degreased, eyes and lips protected.
The acid goes on with gauze or a brush, section by section, each area watched for frosting before the next layer. No neutralizing step; cool compresses follow. A light peel takes about 20 minutes, a medium 30 to 45. Medium TCA is genuinely uncomfortable, worst early.
Pink, hot, sometimes slightly swollen, like a mild sunburn.
Frosting fades within about 15 to 30 minutes, leaving skin bright red and swollen.
Days 1 to 4: Skin feels dry, tight and faintly like fine sandpaper, and often looks duller before it looks better.
Days 1 to 3: Skin turns brown or bronze and feels stiff and leathery.
Days 5 to 7: The rough layer is gone and skin looks brighter and smoother.
Days 3 to 10: Skin cracks and comes away in sheets, often starting at the mouth.
Week 2 onward: The fresh look softens over the next few weeks unless another session follows.
Weeks 2 to 6: Pinkness settles over several weeks and takes makeup once skin is intact.
About 1 week
1–2 weeks after peeling
Months with maintenance
Months to years
A full-face session runs about $300 to $600 in the US, with neck, chest or hands extra.
In the US a light TCA peel runs about $150 to $300 a session and a medium peel about $400 to $900, more for a full face with sedation.
Insurance does not cover this.
Insurance does not cover peels for pigment, texture or scarring.
Depends what you are buying. For generally good skin already on a retinoid and sunscreen, it is reasonable maintenance. For acne scars, established wrinkles or sagging, it is not, and the money goes further elsewhere. One session buys a glow lasting a few weeks.
Same manufacturer, same principle, far less energy. Clear + Brilliant is shallower and gentler, about a day of downtime and much less change per session. Fraxel goes deeper, does more for scars and lines, and costs about a week of downtime.
Redness settles within hours, which is where the phrase comes from. But days two to four bring dryness and fine flaking, and skin looks best five to seven days later. Book a week before an event.
Four to six, two to four weeks apart, then maintenance every one to three months to hold it. One session gives temporary brightening.
Not indented scars — they sit deeper than this reaches. Pores can look smaller because the surface is smoother, but the pore does not change size and the effect fades.
One of the gentler light-based options, used across skin tones, but not risk-free. Dark patches can still happen, settings should be adjusted, and the Permea handpiece carries more risk of worsening pigment.
The white film that appears as TCA coagulates protein. It is the intended endpoint and how the provider judges depth. Patchy frost means a superficial peel; a solid white sheet means the upper dermis.
Same acid, different procedure. TCA CROSS places a high strength into the base of individual icepick scars and leaves the rest of the skin alone. A peel treats the whole area at much lower strength. If icepick scars are why you are going, ask for TCA CROSS by name.
About 3 to 5 days for a light peel, 7 to 10 for a medium one, plus several weeks of fading pinkness. Plan the week off before you book.
Light TCA and TCA CROSS are used on all skin tones. Medium-depth TCA across the face risks lasting dark or pale patches on deeper skin tones, so many providers choose a course of lighter peels instead.
TCA is used up as it reacts, so it stops on its own. Water rinses the surface but does not undo the reaction underneath. That is why it goes on in slow layers and is judged by frosting.
A face peel improves discoloration and texture but does not lift indented scars. Icepick scars may respond to TCA CROSS; rolling and boxcar scars usually need subcision, needling or laser.