It is a supervised peel.
A glycolic acid peel is an alpha-hydroxy acid exfoliation.
Glycolic Acid Peel: A chemical peel that uses glycolic acid, the smallest of the fruit acids. It brightens dull skin, softens rough texture and fades flat brown marks. It works on the surface only, and it has to be neutralized on time.
Photodynamic Therapy: A light-activated drug applied in the office, then switched on with a lamp or laser. It is the strongest non-drug option for inflammatory acne, and the downtime is a real week.


Choose to brighten dull skin and fade flat brown marks with little or no downtime.
Choose to treat a whole area of sun damage at once — or as a strong non-drug option for stubborn acne — with a real week of downtime.
Can you have both?
A light peel is sometimes used before photodynamic therapy to help the cream absorb, but only under the clinic's protocol.
A glycolic acid peel is an alpha-hydroxy acid exfoliation.
Acidity, contact time and technique matter.
The FDA warns against unsupervised strong peels.
Irritation, recent procedures, herpes and pigment risk are reviewed.
A photosensitizing medicine is activated by a set light exposure.
It is used for actinic keratoses and some superficial lesions.
It is not ordinary LED or UV treatment.
Sunscreen alone may not prevent activation.

Brightens quickly.

Clears 75–90% of spots.

Helps alongside lightening creams.

Clears clogged pores.

Fades spots with a series.

Treats superficial types.

Used for stubborn acne.

Too superficial.

Needs excision.

Stings and triggers flushing.

Light can darken patches.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
The peel is applied: A clinician selects the formulation for the skin and goal. Outer cells loosen: Glycolic acid reduces cohesion in the superficial skin layers. The surface renews: Controlled exfoliation can improve selected superficial concerns.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
A photosensitizer is applied: The selected medicine accumulates in the prepared treatment area. Light activates the medicine: A matched light regimen produces reactive molecules. Selected cells are damaged: Inflammation and healing follow; treatment response varies.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
2 weeks before: Sun and tanning: No tanning or sunburn for 2 weeks beforehand, and sunscreen daily.
Pigment cream: On deeper skin tones, and in anyone who marks easily, many providers pre-treat for 2 to 4 weeks with a pigment-blocking cream to lower the chance of dark patches.
Before you book: Events: Do not book a first peel in the days before an event.
2 weeks before: Sun and tanning: Avoid sun and tanning for 2 weeks.
Before you book: Time off: Clear several days, especially the 48 hours after, when you must stay out of sunlight and bright indoor light.
Actives and hair removal: Stop retinoids (tretinoin, adapalene, retinol), benzoyl peroxide and exfoliating acids 3 to 5 days before.
Actives and hair removal: Stop waxing, threading and hair removal creams on the area for a week.
5 to 7 days before: Actives: Stop retinoids and exfoliating acids.
Skin is checked and usually photographed, and you confirm what you stopped using.
Photos, consent covering the off-label use and the downtime, and a medication review.
Skin is cleaned and degreased, eyes and lips protected, and the acid brushed on in a set order.
The provider watches for even pinkness, then neutralizes or floods the skin with water. It takes about 20 to 30 minutes. The sting is hot and prickly, climbs over 2 to 5 minutes, then stops seconds after neutralizing. Say so if it turns to burning, which is the signal to stop early.
Skin is cleaned and degreased, sometimes with microdermabrasion or an acetone wipe, so the drug soaks in evenly.
The solution goes on and you wait 20 minutes to 3 hours in a dim room. Then eye shields go on and you sit under a blue or red light for 8 to 20 minutes, or a laser or IPL is passed over. Stinging builds and peaks at the end; cold air helps.
Pink, tight skin, a bit like mild windburn.
The least comfortable procedure on this list.
Day 1 to 3: Skin feels dry and rough and can look slightly darker before it sheds.
First 48 hours: Stay strictly out of sunlight and bright indoor light; daylight through a window can trigger a severe reaction.
Day 3 to 5: Flaking finishes and skin looks brighter underneath.
Days 4 to 10: Peeling and flaking, sometimes in sheets.
Week 1 to 2: A few spots in the first week or two as clogged pores clear are common, and settle on their own.
Weeks 1 to 2: An acne flare is common in the first week or two, before improvement starts.
Within days
2–4 weeks
Weeks to months with skincare
Treated spots clear; new ones may form
In the US a superficial glycolic peel usually runs about $100 to $250 a session, depending on the city, a medical office versus a spa, and whether it is bundled with a facial.
In the US, PDT for acne generally costs about $400 to $1,500 per session, so a course commonly lands between $800 and $4,000.
Insurance does not cover peels done for brightness, texture or post-acne marks.
Insurance does not cover PDT for acne, because the approved indication is precancerous sun damage.
Glycolic is water-soluble and works on the surface, so it suits dullness, rough texture and brown marks. Salicylic is oil-soluble and gets inside the pore, so it suits blackheads and whiteheads. Some providers blend the two.
Glycolic keeps working until it is stopped, either with a basic solution or by flooding the skin with water. The provider watches a timer and the skin at the same time. Peels left on too long are how burns happen.
Not on its own. The pH and the contact time matter as much as the number. A well-judged 30% peel can do more than a careless 70% one.
Often only lightly, and sometimes not at all. Fine flaking for a day or two is usual, and no flaking does not mean it failed.
4 to 6 peels, 2 to 4 weeks apart, then maintenance every couple of months. One peel gives roughly a week of brightness.
Yes, and skin on a retinoid usually peels more evenly. Stop it about 3 to 5 days before and restart once flaking has finished.
Not in the US. It is FDA-approved for precancerous sun spots; using it for acne is off-label. That is legal and common, but it means no standard protocol and results that vary between clinics.
Plan for 5 to 7 days of a visibly red, then swollen, then peeling face, with the worst in the first 48 hours. It is closer to a medium-depth peel than a laser facial.
The drug is still in your skin, and sunlight — including through a car or office window — activates it and can cause a severe burn. This is the most important instruction of the treatment.
No. Improvement typically lasts 6 to 12 months and repeat courses are often needed. It does not treat scars or existing brown marks.
It can be done, but the risk of lasting dark patches is meaningfully higher, because the treatment works by causing strong inflammation. A shorter incubation, a lower light dose and an experienced provider make a large difference.