It is controlled exfoliation.
A chemical agent creates a controlled skin injury.
Chemical Peel: An acid solution applied in the office to shed the top layers of skin. Superficial peels clear pores and fade brown marks; medium peels reach texture and deeper sun damage. It does not fix indented scars.
Fractional CO2 Laser: An ablative laser that vaporizes thousands of microscopic columns of skin, leaving untouched skin between them to heal from. It is the most effective in-office treatment for indented acne scars, and the one with the most downtime and the highest pigment risk.


Choose for brown marks, clogged pores or dull, sun-aged texture — not for indented scars.
Choose for the biggest single improvement in indented acne scars or deep sun damage, accepting the most downtime and pigment risk.
Can you have both?
Both resurface the skin. CO2 is much deeper with weeks of healing; peels are lighter. Light peels may be used later to maintain results.
A chemical agent creates a controlled skin injury.
Superficial, medium and deep peels differ in recovery and risk.
A peel is not defined by ingredient or percentage alone.
Phenol peels carry serious systemic risks.
It creates microscopic columns of injury in the skin.
Skin between the columns supports recovery.
It is stronger than a facial but less than fully ablative resurfacing.
Pigment, keloid, herpes and isotretinoin history need assessment.

Major improvement in many scar types.

Smooths wide scars.

Tightens and smooths.

Light peels help alongside creams.

Clears clogged pores.

Fades spots.

Deeper peels smooth lines.

Clears sun damage.

Light peels can't reach deep lines.

Very irritating.

High risk of darkening.

Can worsen redness.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
The agent and depth are selected: The clinician matches the peel to the skin and concern. Controlled chemical injury occurs: The chosen agent acts on the planned skin layers. Skin heals and renews: Results and recovery depend on the peel depth and technique.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Creates tiny treatment channels: Laser energy absorbed by water removes narrow columns of tissue. Untreated skin supports healing: Skin between the channels helps the surface repair. Collagen remodels over time: Repair can improve selected scars, lines, and texture.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
2 weeks before: Sun and tanning: No tanning, no sunburn.
4 weeks before: Pigment cream: On deeper skin tones, a pigment-blocking cream first cuts the risk of dark patches.
Sun and pigment cream: No sun, and do not arrive tanned.
Sun and pigment cream: On deeper skin tones a pigment-blocking cream usually starts two to four weeks ahead.
Plan ahead: Time off and supplies: Book the time off, arrange a driver if sedation is planned, buy plain petrolatum and a gentle cleanser, and plan a week at home.
Actives and hair removal: Stop retinoids, benzoyl peroxide and acids 3 to 5 days before.
Actives and hair removal: No waxing, threading or hair removal creams.
Actives and smoking: Stop retinoids, benzoyl peroxide and acids.
1 to 2 days before: Antiviral tablets: Antiviral tablets start a day or two before and continue for several days after, since an outbreak in healing skin can scar.
Skin is checked, photos taken, and you confirm what you have stopped using.
Skin is examined and photographed.
Skin is cleaned and degreased, eyes and lips protected, acid brushed on in layers.
It stings and builds over 2 to 5 minutes, then gets neutralized. The visit takes 20 to 30 minutes. A light peel burns briefly and most people tolerate it; a medium peel is genuinely uncomfortable, and the burning can last an hour.
The handpiece is passed or stamped over each zone.
Expect rapid clicking, a burning smell, and a smoke evacuator running. Heat builds fast and feels hot rather than sharp. A full face takes 30 to 60 minutes, genuinely painful without proper anesthesia. The burning carries on for an hour or two.
Pink, tight skin, sometimes with mild swelling and stinging for a few hours.
Skin is deep red, hot, swollen and weeping clear fluid, with a fine grid pattern visible.
Days 1 to 3: Skin darkens slightly, dry and rough.
Days 1 to 3: Swelling peaks on the first or second morning and can partly close the eyes.
Days 4 to 7: Light peels finish flaking.
Days 3 to 14: The skin turns bronze or grid-patterned brown, then flakes and sheets off, showing bright pink skin.
Weeks 1 to 2: Some people break out for a week or two as clogged pores clear.
Week 3 to Month 12: Redness fades slowly, a month on light settings and three months or longer on aggressive ones.
1–2 weeks after each peel
1–3 months, improving to 6
Months with good skincare
Years
A superficial salicylic or glycolic peel runs about $100 to $300 a session in the US, a medium-depth peel about $400 to $900.
A full-face session in the US usually runs $1,000 to $3,000, varying by city, device, depth, and whether sedation or an operating room is involved.
Insurance rarely covers peels for acne or post-acne marks — they count as cosmetic.
Insurance does not cover resurfacing for acne scars, which is classed as cosmetic.
Not for indented scars. Peels fade the flat brown or red marks left after a spot — people call those scars, but they are discoloration. Depressed scars need microneedling, lasers, subcision, or filler.
Salicylic acid, usually — oil-soluble, so it works inside the pore. Glycolic acid suits surface dullness and pigment. Some providers combine them, or use a salicylic-mandelic blend on deeper skin tones.
4 to 6 sessions, 2 to 4 weeks apart, then maintenance. One peel gives a temporary glow.
Superficial salicylic and glycolic peels are, with good data behind them. Deeper peels can leave a lasting dark or light patch. Depth, not the acid, matters.
Often not much, and that is fine. Sheeting does not mean it worked; mild flaking does not mean it did not.
Five to ten days at home. Swelling and oozing days one to three, bronzing and sloughing days three to seven, and by day seven to ten the surface has closed and mineral makeup is usually allowed. Redness then fades over weeks to a few months.
It improves them substantially, more than any other single treatment, but it does not remove them. Rolling and boxcar scars respond best, icepick scars least, and mixed scarring usually needs subcision or TCA CROSS too.
Experienced providers do it using lower density, longer intervals, and pigment creams before and after. Dark marks are common and fade over months. The rare risk of permanent pigment loss is why many people with deeper skin tones choose microneedling instead.
One to three, 6 to 12 weeks apart, judged six months after the last one.
Yes, without proper anesthesia. Numbing cream alone is not enough for a full face, so nerve blocks, injected anesthetic or oral sedation are standard, and burning continues for an hour or two afterward.
Only with months of margin. Skin looks worse before it looks better, and redness can last one to three months. Six months ahead is a reasonable minimum.