It is controlled exfoliation.
A chemical agent creates a controlled skin injury.
Chemical Peel: An acid solution applied in the office to shed the top layers of skin. Superficial peels clear pores and fade brown marks; medium peels reach texture and deeper sun damage. It does not fix indented scars.
Picosecond Laser: A tattoo and pigment laser that fires in pulses lasting trillionths of a second. It works, and the marketing around the word “pico” has run well ahead of the evidence comparing it to the older quality-switched lasers.


Choose for brown marks, clogged pores or dull, sun-aged texture — not for indented scars.
Choose for tattoo removal or sun spots — it works, but don't pay extra for the word "pico" alone.
Can you have both?
They can share a plan for dark spots and texture. Leave at least 2 weeks between them.
A chemical agent creates a controlled skin injury.
Superficial, medium and deep peels differ in recovery and risk.
A peel is not defined by ingredient or percentage alone.
Phenol peels carry serious systemic risks.
Picosecond lasers act on pigment or create fractional tissue effects.
Tattoos, pigmentation and texture each need different settings.
Spots should be confirmed before fading.
Cosmetic tattoos may darken; melasma needs careful selection.

Fades most ink colors.

Light peels help alongside creams.

Clears clogged pores.

Fades spots.

Deeper peels smooth lines.

Clears spots.

Focus lenses improve texture.

Light peels can't reach deep lines.

Doesn't target vessels.

Very irritating.

Pigment can rebound.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
The tattoo or diagnosed pigment spot determines the treatment site; location varies.
The agent and depth are selected: The clinician matches the peel to the skin and concern. Controlled chemical injury occurs: The chosen agent acts on the planned skin layers. Skin heals and renews: Results and recovery depend on the peel depth and technique.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Ultrashort pulses reach pigment: The wavelength and treatment mode are chosen for the target. Rapid energy delivery fragments pigment: Mechanical effects can break selected particles into smaller pieces. Clearance follows over time: The body clears some fragments; results depend on the pigment and skin.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
2 weeks before: Sun and tanning: No tanning, no sunburn.
4 weeks before: Pigment cream: On deeper skin tones, a pigment-blocking cream first cuts the risk of dark patches.
4 weeks before: Sun and tanning: Avoid sun, sunbeds and self-tanner on the area.
4 weeks before: Sun and tanning: Tanned skin postpones a session — surface pigment competes for the light and raises the risk of burns and pigment loss.
Before you book: Numbing and history: Ask for numbing to be arranged in advance.
Actives and hair removal: Stop retinoids, benzoyl peroxide and acids 3 to 5 days before.
Actives and hair removal: No waxing, threading or hair removal creams.
3 to 5 days before: Actives and shaving: Stop retinoids and exfoliating acids.
3 to 5 days before: Actives and shaving: Shave the area.
Clean skin: Clean, product-free skin.
Skin is checked, photos taken, and you confirm what you have stopped using.
The tattoo or pigment is examined, photographed, and its colors noted, since they decide the wavelengths.
Skin is cleaned and degreased, eyes and lips protected, acid brushed on in layers.
It stings and builds over 2 to 5 minutes, then gets neutralized. The visit takes 20 to 30 minutes. A light peel burns briefly and most people tolerate it; a medium peel is genuinely uncomfortable, and the burning can last an hour.
Everyone wears eye protection.
The provider fires overlapping pulses, with a snapping sound and a faint smell. Skin whitens at once — frosting — and fades within about 20 minutes. A small tattoo takes minutes; a large piece is split across appointments. It feels sharper than getting the tattoo but far quicker, and bony areas are worse.
Pink, tight skin, sometimes with mild swelling and stinging for a few hours.
The area is white and raised, then red and swollen as the frosting fades.
Days 1 to 3: Skin darkens slightly, dry and rough.
Days 1 to 3: Swelling peaks on day one or two and can be marked around the eyes, hands and ankles.
Days 4 to 7: Light peels finish flaking.
Days 3 to 14: Scabs form and fall away on their own, taking some ink with them.
Weeks 1 to 2: Some people break out for a week or two as clogged pores clear.
Weeks 2 to 8: Skin looks normal while the immune system clears ink fragments underneath.
1–2 weeks after each peel
Fading over weeks after each session
Months with good skincare
Removed ink is gone
A superficial salicylic or glycolic peel runs about $100 to $300 a session in the US, a medium-depth peel about $400 to $900.
In the US, a picosecond session on a small to medium tattoo commonly runs $200 to $500, with larger pieces priced higher and often split into sections.
Insurance rarely covers peels for acne or post-acne marks — they count as cosmetic.
Insurance does not cover tattoo removal or cosmetic pigment treatment.
Not for indented scars. Peels fade the flat brown or red marks left after a spot — people call those scars, but they are discoloration. Depressed scars need microneedling, lasers, subcision, or filler.
Salicylic acid, usually — oil-soluble, so it works inside the pore. Glycolic acid suits surface dullness and pigment. Some providers combine them, or use a salicylic-mandelic blend on deeper skin tones.
4 to 6 sessions, 2 to 4 weeks apart, then maintenance. One peel gives a temporary glow.
Superficial salicylic and glycolic peels are, with good data behind them. Deeper peels can leave a lasting dark or light patch. Depth, not the acid, matters.
Often not much, and that is fine. Sheeting does not mean it worked; mild flaking does not mean it did not.
Not settled. Studies generally find picosecond devices perform at least as well, and some report clearance in fewer sessions, but the head-to-head trials are few, small and inconsistent. “Pico” is a marketing category, not a standard, so devices differ a lot. The provider's experience and the wavelengths available for your ink colors matter more than the category name.
Most professional tattoos need five to ten or more, six to eight weeks apart, so a year or longer. Amateur tattoos need fewer, cover-ups more. Nobody can give an accurate number at the first visit; how the first two sessions go is the best predictor available.
Sometimes, but heavily faded with a faint shadow is more common. Ink type, depth, color, age and location all matter, and none can be judged from the surface beforehand. Treat a guarantee of complete removal as a warning sign.
Black and dark blue clear most readily. Green and light blue are hardest and need specific wavelengths. Red, orange and yellow are unpredictable. White, flesh-toned and pastel cosmetic inks can turn dark instantly, which is why they get a test spot first.
Yes, generally at 1064 nm, because surface pigment absorbs it least — the same reason the Nd:YAG laser is preferred there for hair and vessels. Multicolored tattoos are harder, because the wavelengths needed for some colors carry more risk of a light or dark patch. Conservative settings, test spots and longer gaps are standard.
Sometimes, with mixed results. Melasma often improves during a course and then returns, and heat and light can provoke it. Most dermatologists lead with sun protection and pigment creams and add laser cautiously.