It combines needles and energy.
Radiofrequency energy is delivered into or beneath the skin.
RF Microneedling: Microneedling with heat added. Insulated needles carry radiofrequency energy to a set depth in the skin, so the healing response comes from both the puncture and the heat. It is used for indented acne scars, texture, and mild sagging.
Scar Revision: The whole set of procedures used to make an existing scar less noticeable — cutting it out and closing it more neatly, flattening it, releasing it, or resurfacing it. No procedure erases a scar. Revision trades the scar you have for one you would rather live with.


Choose for acne scars and texture with some tightening, with a lower pigment risk than resurfacing lasers.
Choose to trade a scar you dislike for a neater one — no procedure erases a scar.
Can you have both?
RF microneedling is often used 6 to 8 weeks after scar revision to blend the new scar.
Radiofrequency energy is delivered into or beneath the skin.
It differs from conventional microneedling and home rollers.
The FDA has noted burns, scarring, fat loss and nerve damage.
These should be discussed before consenting.
It aims to improve appearance, comfort or movement.
Surgery, injections and resurfacing may be combined.
It modifies scar tissue rather than restoring unscarred skin.
Excision alone can cause a larger recurrence.

Improves rolling and boxcar scars.

Heat remodels soft dips.

Improves width, texture and color.

Mild tightening.

Combined with injections to prevent return.

Punch excision for deep scars.

May shrink pores.

Needs TCA CROSS or punch excision.

Modest change on deep folds.

Usually treated with lasers or needling.
Face and neck; depths and coverage depend on the treatment plan.
The specific lesion, scar or affected patch determines the treatment site; there is no fixed body distribution.
Needles enter the skin: A device places fine electrodes at a selected depth. RF energy heats nearby tissue: Controlled heating occurs around active needle segments. Repair remodels tissue: The healing response can change collagen and skin texture.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
The scar is assessed: Its shape, location, and tension guide the surgical plan. Tissue is revised or rearranged: A surgeon changes the scar and carefully closes the wound. A new scar matures: Appearance may improve, but scar tissue remains.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
6 to 12 months: Waiting: Surgeons want 6 to 12 months of natural settling first.
Pigment cream and sun: Do not arrive tanned or sunburned.
Pigment cream and sun: On deeper skin tones, many providers prescribe a pigment-blocking cream for two to four weeks first.
Sun: Keep the scar out of the sun and use SPF 30 or higher.
2 weeks before: Smoking and vaping: Stop both at least two weeks before and after surgery.
Actives and hair removal: Stop retinoids, benzoyl peroxide and exfoliating acids about 5 days before.
Actives and hair removal: No waxing or hair removal creams on the area.
Clean face: Clean face, no makeup.
Clean face: If injected anesthetic is planned, expect a long appointment and a ride home if anything sedating is used.
What to bring: Old photos: Photographs from before the injury, if you have them.
Skin is examined and photographed, and the provider maps depths for each area — shallower around the eyes and forehead, deeper over scarred cheeks and the jaw.
The scar is photographed and examined relaxed and stretched.
The handpiece is pressed on the skin and fired one stamp at a time in a grid, not glided.
A full face takes 20 to 45 minutes, often with passes at several depths. With cream alone the sting is sharp, worst on the forehead and jaw; with injected anesthetic it is mostly pressure and heat.
A steroid injection takes minutes and meets real resistance.
Surgical revision cuts the scar out as a narrow ellipse and closes it in layers, usually 30 to 90 minutes. A Z-plasty swaps small flaps to change direction. Punch excision removes a small round scar. Laser or microneedling takes 20 to 45 minutes. Expect pressure, not sharpness.
Red, hot and swollen, with a visible grid of small dots.
Tape over the line, wound care instructions, and a date for stitch removal — 5 to 7 days on the face, 10 to 14 days on the body.
Days 1 to 2: Swelling is worst the first morning, especially around the eyes and jaw, enough to change how your face looks.
First 2 weeks: Swollen, bruised and tender.
Days 3 to 10: Swelling drops, redness fades to pink, and the skin feels sandpapery with the grid faintly visible.
Weeks 2 to 8: The new line turns pink, firm and slightly raised — normal healing, not failure.
Months 1 to 6: Firmness and texture keep changing after the visible healing.
Months 3 to 18: Redness fades and the ridge softens from month 3 to 6, with massage and silicone doing the work.
1–3 months, improving to 6
Over 6–12 months
Years for scars
Permanent
In the US, a full-face session generally runs about $700 to $1,500, and a package of three commonly falls between $2,000 and $4,000.
In the US this varies more than almost any other dermatology procedure, because "scar revision" covers a five-minute injection and a ninety-minute operation.
Insurance does not cover it, since it is classed as cosmetic.
Insurance often pays when a scar limits movement or vision, interferes with function, or follows cancer surgery or an injury.
Morpheus8 is one brand of radiofrequency microneedling device. Profound, Vivace, Genius, Secret RF, Scarlet and Sylfirm X do the same job. Needle insulation, depth, energy and the operator determine the outcome.
Partly, and over a course. Rolling and boxcar scars become shallower across about three sessions. Icepick scars respond poorly. Expect improvement, not clearance.
Modestly, if the laxity is mild and early. It firms rather than lifts. Skin that visibly hangs will not respond, and a surgical consultation is the more honest next step.
More than plain microneedling. Numbing cream alone leaves a sharp hot sting, so many providers add injected anesthetic or nerve blocks at deeper settings. With those it is mostly pressure and heat.
Generally safer than ablative lasers, since melanin does not absorb the energy. Dark marks are still possible from the heat, sometimes in the grid pattern, and they fade over months. Ask about insulated needles and conservative starting settings.
Yes, and it is the risk worth understanding. Deep, high-energy settings in a thin face can shrink the fat under the skin, leaving a hollow that does not reliably return. Conservative settings built up over sessions, and a provider who takes the question seriously, are the protection.
No. Every treatment replaces the scar with a different one — flatter, narrower, paler, or running in a less obvious direction. Often a large improvement, not removal.
Usually 6 to 12 months, because most scars keep improving on their own in that time. Scars that limit movement and raised scars still growing are treated sooner.
A hypertrophic scar is raised but stays within the original wound borders and often flattens over a year or two. A keloid grows beyond them, keeps going, and does not settle by itself. Keloids come back after surgery much more often, so they are usually injected rather than cut.
Some of them. Rolling scars respond to subcision, needling and laser; deep icepick scars often need punch excision or a targeted acid technique; boxcar scars sit in between. Expect a course and partial improvement, not one operation.
Sometimes — when the scar restricts movement or vision, causes symptoms, or follows cancer surgery or trauma. Revision for appearance is cosmetic. Ask the office to check with your insurer before you book.
Yes, but the order changes. Injections, silicone and pressure come first, elective surgery on high-risk sites is approached carefully, and if a keloid is removed, something is always done alongside to control the healing. Tell the provider at the first visit.