It is a nonablative fractional laser.
Fraxel heats microscopic zones while sparing skin in between.
Fraxel: A laser that heats thousands of microscopic columns in the skin and leaves the skin between them untouched. Used for sun damage, acne scars, and rough texture. It takes a course of treatments and a few days of looking sunburned each time.
Scar Revision: The whole set of procedures used to make an existing scar less noticeable — cutting it out and closing it more neatly, flattening it, releasing it, or resurfacing it. No procedure erases a scar. Revision trades the scar you have for one you would rather live with.


Choose for acne scars or sun damage with a few days of downtime per session instead of the week-plus of ablative lasers.
Choose to trade a scar you dislike for a neater one — no procedure erases a scar.
Can you have both?
Fraxel is often used 6 to 8 weeks after scar revision surgery to blend the new scar.
Fraxel heats microscopic zones while sparing skin in between.
Wavelength and device determine the treatment.
It is less intensive than ablative lasers.
Burns, redness and pigment changes can occur.
It aims to improve appearance, comfort or movement.
Surgery, injections and resurfacing may be combined.
It modifies scar tissue rather than restoring unscarred skin.
Excision alone can cause a larger recurrence.

Improves rolling and boxcar scars.

Clears sun damage.

Improves width, texture and color.

Smooths texture.

Combined with injections to prevent return.

Punch excision for deep scars.

Low settings may help some.

Too deep for most sessions.

Usually treated with lasers or needling.

Can worsen redness.
Face and hands.
The specific lesion, scar or affected patch determines the treatment site; there is no fixed body distribution.
Fractional heat zones leave surrounding tissue untreated. Superficial 1927 nm treatment helps fade uneven pigmentation; deeper 1550 nm treatment triggers repair and collagen remodeling.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
The scar is assessed: Its shape, location, and tension guide the surgical plan. Tissue is revised or rearranged: A surgeon changes the scar and carefully closes the wound. A new scar matures: Appearance may improve, but scar tissue remains.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
6 to 12 months: Waiting: Surgeons want 6 to 12 months of natural settling first.
4 weeks before: Sun: Avoid tanning, self-tanner and sunburn.
Pigment preparation: For deeper skin tones, providers may prescribe a pigment-lowering cream for 2–4 weeks and test near the ear.
Sun: Keep the scar out of the sun and use SPF 30 or higher.
2 weeks before: Smoking and vaping: Stop both at least two weeks before and after surgery.
Cold sores: Tell your provider; preventive antiviral medicine often starts the day before.
Hair removal: Stop waxing, threading and hair-removal creams.
Actives: Stop retinoids, retinol and acids 3–7 days before.
Arrive with clean skin and no makeup.
Arrange a ride if you will have strong settings or oral pain medicine.
What to bring: Old photos: Photographs from before the injury, if you have them.
Skin is cleaned and photographed. Numbing cream stays on for 45–60 minutes.
The scar is photographed and examined relaxed and stretched.
The laser passes over the skin while cold air cools it.
Expect prickly heat that builds with each pass, often strongly uncomfortable—especially on the forehead and around the mouth.
A steroid injection takes minutes and meets real resistance.
Surgical revision cuts the scar out as a narrow ellipse and closes it in layers, usually 30 to 90 minutes. A Z-plasty swaps small flaps to change direction. Punch excision removes a small round scar. Laser or microneedling takes 20 to 45 minutes. Expect pressure, not sharpness.
Skin feels hot, red and swollen. Ice packs and a bland ointment are usually applied.
Tape over the line, wound care instructions, and a date for stitch removal — 5 to 7 days on the face, 10 to 14 days on the body.
Days 1–2: Redness and swelling, especially around the eyes.
First 2 weeks: Swollen, bruised and tender.
Days 3–7: Rough, bronzed skin flakes away. Do not scrub or pick.
Weeks 2 to 8: The new line turns pink, firm and slightly raised — normal healing, not failure.
1–3 months: Time to results.
Scar improvement can last years; sun damage can return with sun exposure.
Months 3 to 18: Redness fades and the ridge softens from month 3 to 6, with massage and silicone doing the work.
Over 6–12 months
Permanent
About $900–1,500 for a full face in the US. Smaller areas cost less.
In the US this varies more than almost any other dermatology procedure, because "scar revision" covers a five-minute injection and a ninety-minute operation.
Several thousand dollars. Packages may reduce the per-session price.
Cosmetic treatment is not covered. Coverage for surgical or injury scars is uncommon.
Insurance often pays when a scar limits movement or vision, interferes with function, or follows cancer surgery or an injury.
Three to five, two to four weeks apart. Sun damage sometimes needs fewer, acne scars usually need the full course, and deeper skin tones are treated at lower settings, which means more sessions.
It improves them rather than removing them. Studies of nonablative fractional lasers show partial improvement in scar depth and appearance over a course. Deep icepick scars respond least and are often better treated by combining the laser with subcision or filler.
Plan for a week. Two days of redness and swelling, then a few days of rough, bronzed skin that flakes off. Most people cover it with makeup from day three and look normal by day seven.
With an hour of numbing cream and cold air, most people call it hot and strongly uncomfortable rather than unbearable, and it stops as soon as the laser does. The forehead and around the mouth are the worst.
It can be done, but differently. The main risk is temporary dark patches. Lower settings, more sessions, pre-treatment creams and strict sun protection all lower that risk, and the provider experience with your skin tone matters more than the device.
No, though one device sold under the Fraxel brand is a carbon dioxide laser. The Fraxel most people mean is nonablative, heating the skin without removing the surface. A carbon dioxide laser removes tissue, does more per session, and brings one to two weeks of downtime and more pigment risk.
No. Every treatment replaces the scar with a different one — flatter, narrower, paler, or running in a less obvious direction. Often a large improvement, not removal.
Usually 6 to 12 months, because most scars keep improving on their own in that time. Scars that limit movement and raised scars still growing are treated sooner.
A hypertrophic scar is raised but stays within the original wound borders and often flattens over a year or two. A keloid grows beyond them, keeps going, and does not settle by itself. Keloids come back after surgery much more often, so they are usually injected rather than cut.
Some of them. Rolling scars respond to subcision, needling and laser; deep icepick scars often need punch excision or a targeted acid technique; boxcar scars sit in between. Expect a course and partial improvement, not one operation.
Sometimes — when the scar restricts movement or vision, causes symptoms, or follows cancer surgery or trauma. Revision for appearance is cosmetic. Ask the office to check with your insurer before you book.
Yes, but the order changes. Injections, silicone and pressure come first, elective surgery on high-risk sites is approached carefully, and if a keloid is removed, something is always done alongside to control the healing. Tell the provider at the first visit.