It is a nonablative fractional laser.
Fraxel heats microscopic zones while sparing skin in between.
Fraxel: A laser that heats thousands of microscopic columns in the skin and leaves the skin between them untouched. Used for sun damage, acne scars, and rough texture. It takes a course of treatments and a few days of looking sunburned each time.
Microneedling: A pen or roller of fine needles makes thousands of tiny controlled punctures in the skin, which sets off healing and new collagen. It is used mainly for indented acne scars and rough texture. It makes them shallower over a course of sessions, not gone.


Choose for acne scars or sun damage with a few days of downtime per session instead of the week-plus of ablative lasers.
Choose for indented acne scars and rough texture with little downtime and low pigment risk — shallower, not gone.
Can you have both?
Both build collagen for scars and texture. Fraxel is stronger; microneedling is milder and lower cost. One is usually chosen per plan.
Fraxel heats microscopic zones while sparing skin in between.
Wavelength and device determine the treatment.
It is less intensive than ablative lasers.
Burns, redness and pigment changes can occur.
Fine needles puncture the skin in a controlled way.
Results depend on device, depth and technique.
No radiofrequency energy is involved.
Devices are not cleared for use with every serum or blood product.

Improves rolling and boxcar scars.

Clears sun damage.

Improves rolling and boxcar scars.

Good results with a series.

Smooths texture.

Softens older marks.

Improves texture.

Low settings may help some.

Too deep for most sessions.

Too deep for needling alone.

Can worsen redness.

Can spread active breakouts.
Face and hands.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Fractional heat zones leave surrounding tissue untreated. Superficial 1927 nm treatment helps fade uneven pigmentation; deeper 1550 nm treatment triggers repair and collagen remodeling.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Fine needles create tiny punctures: A device makes controlled channels in selected skin. Healing signals are released: The tissue response activates repair processes. Collagen remodels gradually: Healing may improve selected scars and skin texture.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
4 weeks before: Sun: Avoid tanning, self-tanner and sunburn.
Pigment preparation: For deeper skin tones, providers may prescribe a pigment-lowering cream for 2–4 weeks and test near the ear.
Pigment cream: On deeper skin tones, some providers start a pigment-blocking cream a few weeks ahead.
Cold sores: Tell your provider; preventive antiviral medicine often starts the day before.
Hair removal: Stop waxing, threading and hair-removal creams.
Actives: Stop retinoids, retinol and acids 3–7 days before.
Actives and hair removal: Do not arrive tanned or sunburned.
Actives and hair removal: Stop retinoids (tretinoin, adapalene, retinol), benzoyl peroxide and acids 3 to 5 days before.
Actives and hair removal: No waxing, threading or hair removal creams.
Arrive with clean skin and no makeup.
Arrange a ride if you will have strong settings or oral pain medicine.
Clean skin: Come with a clean face and no makeup, and plan not to wear any that day.
Clean skin: If you have active pustules or an infection in the area, move the session.
Skin is cleaned and photographed. Numbing cream stays on for 45–60 minutes.
Skin is checked and photographed, and you confirm what you have stopped using.
The laser passes over the skin while cold air cools it.
Expect prickly heat that builds with each pass, often strongly uncomfortable—especially on the forehead and around the mouth.
The pen is passed over the skin in overlapping passes, one area at a time, with sterile gel or saline as a glide.
It sounds like a small vibrating motor and takes 20 to 30 minutes for a full face. Pinpoint bleeding is normal at deeper settings over scars. With good numbing it is uncomfortable rather than painful, a scratchy dragging with pressure.
Skin feels hot, red and swollen. Ice packs and a bland ointment are usually applied.
Skin is bright red, warm and tight, like a strong sunburn, sometimes with faint tracking lines and dots of dried blood.
Days 1–2: Redness and swelling, especially around the eyes.
Days 1 to 5: Redness turns pink and swelling settles, most noticeably around the eyes the first morning.
Days 3–7: Rough, bronzed skin flakes away. Do not scrub or pick.
Weeks 1 to 4: Skin looks normal and nothing appears to be happening.
1–3 months: Time to results.
Scar improvement can last years; sun damage can return with sun exposure.
Months 2 to 6: Texture keeps improving after the visible healing finishes, which is why the photograph that matters is taken months later, not the week after.
1–3 months after each session
Years for scars
About $900–1,500 for a full face in the US. Smaller areas cost less.
In the US a full-face session usually runs about $200 to $700, with medical offices at the higher end and packages of three to six cheaper per session.
Several thousand dollars. Packages may reduce the per-session price.
Cosmetic treatment is not covered. Coverage for surgical or injury scars is uncommon.
Insurance does not cover microneedling for acne scars, since it is classed as cosmetic.
Three to five, two to four weeks apart. Sun damage sometimes needs fewer, acne scars usually need the full course, and deeper skin tones are treated at lower settings, which means more sessions.
It improves them rather than removing them. Studies of nonablative fractional lasers show partial improvement in scar depth and appearance over a course. Deep icepick scars respond least and are often better treated by combining the laser with subcision or filler.
Plan for a week. Two days of redness and swelling, then a few days of rough, bronzed skin that flakes off. Most people cover it with makeup from day three and look normal by day seven.
With an hour of numbing cream and cold air, most people call it hot and strongly uncomfortable rather than unbearable, and it stops as soon as the laser does. The forehead and around the mouth are the worst.
It can be done, but differently. The main risk is temporary dark patches. Lower settings, more sessions, pre-treatment creams and strict sun protection all lower that risk, and the provider experience with your skin tone matters more than the device.
No, though one device sold under the Fraxel brand is a carbon dioxide laser. The Fraxel most people mean is nonablative, heating the skin without removing the surface. A carbon dioxide laser removes tissue, does more per session, and brings one to two weeks of downtime and more pigment risk.
No. It makes indented scars shallower and less noticeable over three to six sessions. Rolling and shallow boxcar scars respond best, icepick scars respond poorly, and improvement is partial in every study. That is worth having; complete clearance is not what this treatment does.
Three to six for scarring, four to six weeks apart, then a wait. Texture keeps improving for three to six months after the last session, so do not judge the outcome before then.
With numbing cream on for 30 to 45 minutes it is uncomfortable rather than painful, a scratchy pressure rather than a sharp pain. The forehead, nose and jawline are the worst part, and deeper settings over scars are sharper.
One of the better options, because there is no heat or light for melanin to absorb. Dark marks are still possible if the settings are aggressive or the skin sees sun afterward, and they fade over months. Choose someone who treats deeper skin tones routinely.
Anything at 0.5 mm or deeper is a medical depth and should not be used at home. Needles blunt, home rollers cannot be properly sterilized, and serums through fresh channels have caused lasting lumps of inflammation. Rollers at 0.2 to 0.3 mm are mostly harmless and mostly useless.
Platelet-rich plasma is your own blood, spun down and applied or injected during the session. The evidence that it improves scar results is mixed, and it often doubles the price. A course without it is a reasonable course.