It is a botulinum toxin.
Botox is the brand name for onabotulinumtoxinA, given by a trained clinician.
Botox: An injection that temporarily weakens specific facial muscles, so the lines those muscles make soften. It wears off in about three to four months. It does not fill, lift, or improve the quality of the skin.
Fraxel: A laser that heats thousands of microscopic columns in the skin and leaves the skin between them untouched. Used for sun damage, acne scars, and rough texture. It takes a course of treatments and a few days of looking sunburned each time.


Choose for lines that appear when you move — frowning, squinting or raising your brows.
Choose for acne scars or sun damage with a few days of downtime per session instead of the week-plus of ablative lasers.
Can you have both?
A common pairing: Fraxel improves texture and fine lines while Botox relaxes expression lines. Space them about 2 weeks apart.
Botox is the brand name for onabotulinumtoxinA, given by a trained clinician.
Its effect on muscle activity is temporary.
It does not add volume.
Neuromuscular disease, swallowing problems, pregnancy and previous toxin treatment should be discussed.
Fraxel heats microscopic zones while sparing skin in between.
Wavelength and device determine the treatment.
It is less intensive than ablative lasers.
Burns, redness and pigment changes can occur.

Smooths frown lines and crow's feet.

Stops underarm sweating for months.

Improves rolling and boxcar scars.

Clears sun damage.

Smooths texture.

Small studies show less flushing.

Low settings may help some.

Lines at rest may need filler.

Too deep for most sessions.

Doesn't lift loose skin.

Doesn't add volume.

Can worsen redness.
Forehead, between the brows, crow’s feet and underarms.
Face and hands.
Placed near nerve endings: A clinician injects botulinum toxin into selected muscles. Reduces signal release: The treated nerve ending releases less acetylcholine. Muscle activity relaxes: Movement-related lines can soften as contraction decreases.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Fractional heat zones leave surrounding tissue untreated. Superficial 1927 nm treatment helps fade uneven pigmentation; deeper 1550 nm treatment triggers repair and collagen remodeling.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Planning: Timing: Allow at least 2 weeks before an important event; results settle in 10–14 days and bruises may last a week.
4 weeks before: Sun: Avoid tanning, self-tanner and sunburn.
Pigment preparation: For deeper skin tones, providers may prescribe a pigment-lowering cream for 2–4 weeks and test near the ear.
Preparation: Medicines and alcohol: Ask about fish oil, vitamin E and ibuprofen; avoid alcohol for 24 hours.
A few days before: Bruising and alcohol: Never stop a prescribed blood thinner on your own.
Cold sores: Tell your provider; preventive antiviral medicine often starts the day before.
Hair removal: Stop waxing, threading and hair-removal creams.
Actives: Stop retinoids, retinol and acids 3–7 days before.
What to bring: Arrive with a clean face, reference photos and clear treatment goals.
Arrive with clean skin and no makeup.
Arrange a ride if you will have strong settings or oral pain medicine.
You say what bothers you while the injector watches your face move.
Skin is cleaned and photographed. Numbing cream stays on for 45–60 minutes.
The skin is cleaned, then small injections go into the chosen muscles, a few in each area.
The visit runs 10 to 20 minutes. Each point is a sharp sting, then it is over — most people rate it below a blood test. The forehead and between the brows are the most sensitive.
The laser passes over the skin while cold air cools it.
Expect prickly heat that builds with each pass, often strongly uncomfortable—especially on the forehead and around the mouth.
Small raised bumps like insect bites settle within about 20 to 30 minutes.
Skin feels hot, red and swollen. Ice packs and a bland ointment are usually applied.
Days 1 to 3: A few people bruise, usually near the eyes.
Days 1–2: Redness and swelling, especially around the eyes.
Days 3 to 5: Movement feels different — heavy, or a muscle that will not quite fire.
Days 10 to 14: The true result.
Days 3–7: Rough, bronzed skin flakes away. Do not scrub or pick.
1–3 months: Time to results.
Scar improvement can last years; sun damage can return with sun exposure.
Starts in 3–5 days, full at 2 weeks
3–4 months
In the US it is priced per unit or per area.
About $900–1,500 for a full face in the US. Smaller areas cost less.
Insurance does not cover cosmetic use.
Cosmetic treatment is not covered. Coverage for surgical or injury scars is uncommon.
Several thousand dollars. Packages may reduce the per-session price.
Three to four months for most people and areas. The jaw muscle and underarm sweating last longer. Fading is gradual, so movement returns over a few weeks.
A sharp sting for a second or two per injection, several times. Most people find it easier than expected and skip numbing.
Only if the dose says so. Amount and placement decide how much movement you keep, and a lighter dose at a first appointment is reasonable. You can add more at two weeks; you cannot take any away.
There is no antidote, so it has to wear off over weeks to a few months. Some problems can be balanced with a few extra units elsewhere, which is why starting conservatively is safer.
Decades of medical use at doses far larger than cosmetic ones, with no pattern of lasting harm. The main reported change is treated muscles getting somewhat weaker over years, which is the intended effect.
That depends on the muscle and the face, not a standard number. As a rough reference, frown lines between the brows are commonly treated with about 20 units of one common brand. Units are not comparable between brands, so ask which product is used.
Three to five, two to four weeks apart. Sun damage sometimes needs fewer, acne scars usually need the full course, and deeper skin tones are treated at lower settings, which means more sessions.
It improves them rather than removing them. Studies of nonablative fractional lasers show partial improvement in scar depth and appearance over a course. Deep icepick scars respond least and are often better treated by combining the laser with subcision or filler.
Plan for a week. Two days of redness and swelling, then a few days of rough, bronzed skin that flakes off. Most people cover it with makeup from day three and look normal by day seven.
With an hour of numbing cream and cold air, most people call it hot and strongly uncomfortable rather than unbearable, and it stops as soon as the laser does. The forehead and around the mouth are the worst.
It can be done, but differently. The main risk is temporary dark patches. Lower settings, more sessions, pre-treatment creams and strict sun protection all lower that risk, and the provider experience with your skin tone matters more than the device.
No, though one device sold under the Fraxel brand is a carbon dioxide laser. The Fraxel most people mean is nonablative, heating the skin without removing the surface. A carbon dioxide laser removes tissue, does more per session, and brings one to two weeks of downtime and more pigment risk.