It combines needles and energy.
Radiofrequency energy is delivered into or beneath the skin.
RF Microneedling: Microneedling with heat added. Insulated needles carry radiofrequency energy to a set depth in the skin, so the healing response comes from both the puncture and the heat. It is used for indented acne scars, texture, and mild sagging.
Ultherapy: Focused ultrasound delivered through the skin to heat small points in the deeper layers, so the body lays down new collagen over the following months. It gives a mild tightening of loose skin on the brow, jawline and neck. It is not a facelift, and the treatment itself is painful.


Choose for acne scars and texture with some tightening, with a lower pigment risk than resurfacing lasers.
Choose for a mild lift of the brow, jaw or neck without surgery or downtime — not a facelift, and the treatment hurts.
Can you have both?
They work at different depths: Ultherapy lifts deep, RF microneedling tightens the surface. Space them several weeks apart.
Radiofrequency energy is delivered into or beneath the skin.
It differs from conventional microneedling and home rollers.
The FDA has noted burns, scarring, fat loss and nerve damage.
These should be discussed before consenting.
Ultherapy heats selected tissue depths under visualization.
It is used for selected concerns about loose skin.
It does not remove excess skin.
Energy placed in the wrong tissue can cause injury.

Improves rolling and boxcar scars.

Heat remodels soft dips.

Mild tightening.

Mild lift of brow and jaw.

May shrink pores.

Needs TCA CROSS or punch excision.

Modest change on deep folds.

Limited change on deep folds.

Doesn't add volume.

Doesn't change scars.
Face and neck; depths and coverage depend on the treatment plan.
Brow, jawline and neck.
Needles enter the skin: A device places fine electrodes at a selected depth. RF energy heats nearby tissue: Controlled heating occurs around active needle segments. Repair remodels tissue: The healing response can change collagen and skin texture.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Ultrasound locates tissue planes: Imaging helps the clinician view the treatment area. Focused energy creates heat points: Ultrasound concentrates energy at selected depths. Repair remodels support tissue: Collagen changes develop gradually; lifting effects vary.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Pigment cream and sun: Do not arrive tanned or sunburned.
Pigment cream and sun: On deeper skin tones, many providers prescribe a pigment-blocking cream for two to four weeks first.
Actives and hair removal: Stop retinoids, benzoyl peroxide and exfoliating acids about 5 days before.
Actives and hair removal: No waxing or hair removal creams on the area.
Until the visit: Skin care: Nothing to stop, and no pre-treatment cream needed.
Clean face: Clean face, no makeup.
Clean face: If injected anesthetic is planned, expect a long appointment and a ride home if anything sedating is used.
An hour before: Pain relief: Ask what is on offer.
Skin is examined and photographed, and the provider maps depths for each area — shallower around the eyes and forehead, deeper over scarred cheeks and the jaw.
Photos and a ride: Photographs first — the change is gradual and modest, so photos are the only reliable way to judge it.
Photographs are taken, areas marked, and the provider decides which depths and how many lines of energy each area gets.
The handpiece is pressed on the skin and fired one stamp at a time in a grid, not glided.
A full face takes 20 to 45 minutes, often with passes at several depths. With cream alone the sting is sharp, worst on the forehead and jaw; with injected anesthetic it is mostly pressure and heat.
Gel goes on and the handpiece is pressed to the skin.
The provider checks the imaging screen and delivers a line of energy: seconds of deep heat and sharp pain, then a pause. Swapping the transducer changes depth. Face and neck take 60 to 90 minutes, smaller areas about 30. It is worst over the jawbone and brow and stops when the treatment does.
Red, hot and swollen, with a visible grid of small dots.
Skin is flushed and slightly swollen, sometimes with small raised lines along the path.
Days 1 to 2: Swelling is worst the first morning, especially around the eyes and jaw, enough to change how your face looks.
Days 1 to 7: The area is tender to press and can ache when chewing if the jaw was treated.
Days 3 to 10: Swelling drops, redness fades to pink, and the skin feels sandpapery with the grid faintly visible.
Weeks 1 to 4: Swelling gone, sensation returning, skin looking the way it did before.
Weeks 4 to 8: Remaining numbness or tenderness usually resolves.
Months 1 to 6: Firmness and texture keep changing after the visible healing.
1–3 months, improving to 6
2–3 months, building to 6
Years for scars
About 1 year
In the US, a full-face session generally runs about $700 to $1,500, and a package of three commonly falls between $2,000 and $4,000.
In the US a single smaller area such as under the chin, the brow or the chest runs about $1,000 to $2,000, and a full face and neck about $2,000 to $4,500, varying a lot by city and practice.
Insurance does not cover it, since it is classed as cosmetic.
Insurance does not cover it.
Morpheus8 is one brand of radiofrequency microneedling device. Profound, Vivace, Genius, Secret RF, Scarlet and Sylfirm X do the same job. Needle insulation, depth, energy and the operator determine the outcome.
Partly, and over a course. Rolling and boxcar scars become shallower across about three sessions. Icepick scars respond poorly. Expect improvement, not clearance.
Modestly, if the laxity is mild and early. It firms rather than lifts. Skin that visibly hangs will not respond, and a surgical consultation is the more honest next step.
More than plain microneedling. Numbing cream alone leaves a sharp hot sting, so many providers add injected anesthetic or nerve blocks at deeper settings. With those it is mostly pressure and heat.
Generally safer than ablative lasers, since melanin does not absorb the energy. Dark marks are still possible from the heat, sometimes in the grid pattern, and they fade over months. Ask about insulated needles and conservative starting settings.
Yes, and it is the risk worth understanding. Deep, high-energy settings in a thin face can shrink the fat under the skin, leaving a hollow that does not reliably return. Conservative settings built up over sessions, and a provider who takes the question seriously, are the protection.
Yes — one of the more painful non-invasive treatments, worst along the jaw and brow where bone sits underneath. The pain comes in bursts with each line of energy and stops when the treatment ends. Ask about pain control before booking: a painkiller beforehand, a nerve block, or a mild sedative.
A mild one. In somewhat loose skin it shows as a slightly crisper jawline and a small lift at the brow, visible in side-by-side photographs more than in the mirror. Heavy sagging does not respond.
Nothing for the first month, change from around two to three months, peak at about six. It then fades over roughly a year to eighteen months.
Not necessarily. Ultrasound devices differ in energy and design, and most cheaper machines have no imaging screen, so the operator cannot see the tissue layers. Ask what device is being used and who is operating it.
Rare, and reported — usually temporary weakness of a facial muscle or numbness recovering over weeks to months. It is the main reason to care who is holding the handpiece.
Yes, and one of the better energy options for deeper skin tones, because ultrasound is not absorbed by pigment the way laser light is. Settings do not change.