They are dissolvable threads.
Polydioxanone threads are placed beneath the skin.
PDO Threads: Dissolvable stitches placed under the skin to lift it a little and prompt some collagen. The lift is real but small, it lasts months rather than years, and it is not a substitute for a facelift.
RF Microneedling: Microneedling with heat added. Insulated needles carry radiofrequency energy to a set depth in the skin, so the healing response comes from both the puncture and the heat. It is used for indented acne scars, texture, and mild sagging.


Choose for a small, temporary lift of mild sagging without surgery — not a substitute for a facelift.
Choose for acne scars and texture with some tightening, with a lower pigment risk than resurfacing lasers.
Can you have both?
They work on different layers: threads lift, RF microneedling tightens the skin surface. Do RF first, or wait several weeks after threads.
Polydioxanone threads are placed beneath the skin.
They provide mechanical lift and a tissue response.
Results are not equivalent to surgery.
Infection risk and prior procedures should be discussed.
Radiofrequency energy is delivered into or beneath the skin.
It differs from conventional microneedling and home rollers.
The FDA has noted burns, scarring, fat loss and nerve damage.
These should be discussed before consenting.

Improves rolling and boxcar scars.

Heat remodels soft dips.

Mild tightening.

Mild, temporary lift.

May shrink pores.

Little change on deep folds.

Needs TCA CROSS or punch excision.

Modest change on deep folds.

Doesn't add volume.
Selected areas of the face; placement follows the assessed lifting plan.
Face and neck; depths and coverage depend on the treatment plan.
Threads are placed beneath skin: A clinician selects the thread type and tissue plane. Support depends on the thread: Barbed threads can provide a mechanical lifting effect. Tissue responds as threads resorb: Effects are temporary and vary with anatomy and technique.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Needles enter the skin: A device places fine electrodes at a selected depth. RF energy heats nearby tissue: Controlled heating occurs around active needle segments. Repair remodels tissue: The healing response can change collagen and skin texture.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
2 weeks before: Events: Do not book this within two weeks of an event.
Before you book: Dental work and flares: Get dental work done first, since wide mouth opening is discouraged for a few weeks.
Pigment cream and sun: Do not arrive tanned or sunburned.
Pigment cream and sun: On deeper skin tones, many providers prescribe a pigment-blocking cream for two to four weeks first.
A few days before: Blood thinners and alcohol: Ask the prescribing doctor before pausing a blood thinner.
Actives and hair removal: Stop retinoids, benzoyl peroxide and exfoliating acids about 5 days before.
Actives and hair removal: No waxing or hair removal creams on the area.
Photos: Have photos taken sitting upright, in the light you will be reviewed in.
Clean face: Clean face, no makeup.
Clean face: If injected anesthetic is planned, expect a long appointment and a ride home if anything sedating is used.
You are assessed and marked sitting upright, because the face falls differently lying down.
Skin is examined and photographed, and the provider maps depths for each area — shallower around the eyes and forehead, deeper over scarred cheeks and the jaw.
Small entry points are made near the hairline or temple.
A needle or cannula carries each thread along a planned path, the thread is anchored, and tension is adjusted while both sides are checked. A face takes 30 to 60 minutes. You feel pressure, tugging and an odd crunching rather than sharp pain. Soreness starts once the anesthetic wears off.
The handpiece is pressed on the skin and fired one stamp at a time in a grid, not glided.
A full face takes 20 to 45 minutes, often with passes at several depths. With cream alone the sting is sharp, worst on the forehead and jaw; with injected anesthetic it is mostly pressure and heat.
Swollen and tight, with small marks at the entry points.
Red, hot and swollen, with a visible grid of small dots.
Days 1 to 7: Chewing, yawning and wide smiling are uncomfortable, and bruising at entry points is common.
Days 1 to 2: Swelling is worst the first morning, especially around the eyes and jaw, enough to change how your face looks.
Days 3 to 10: Swelling drops, redness fades to pink, and the skin feels sandpapery with the grid faintly visible.
Weeks 1 to 2: Small dimples and irregular lines along the threads usually smooth out.
Weeks 2 to 6: The over-lifted look relaxes into the actual result.
Months 1 to 6: Firmness and texture keep changing after the visible healing.
Immediately
1–3 months, improving to 6
6–12 months
Years for scars
In the US a full-face thread lift commonly runs about $1,500 to $4,500, and more in some cities.
In the US, a full-face session generally runs about $700 to $1,500, and a package of three commonly falls between $2,000 and $4,000.
Insurance does not cover it.
Insurance does not cover it, since it is classed as cosmetic.
A few millimeters, and less once swelling settles. Enough to soften an early jowl or lift a brow slightly in the right face. Not enough to change the outline of a face — anyone promising that is describing surgery.
The material dissolves in about four to six months. The visible effect usually lasts around six to twelve months, then fades gradually. Some firming from the collagen along the tracks remains after the lift has gone.
No, and that comparison is the main reason people are unhappy afterward. A facelift moves the deeper layer of the face and removes skin, under surgery, and lasts years. Threads gather skin along a stitch for months.
Under local anesthetic it feels more strange than painful — pressure and tugging. The days afterward are sore, especially chewing or yawning, and that usually settles within one to two weeks.
Both are recognized and both are fixable, but they need the provider who placed them. Dimples in the first two weeks usually settle on their own. A thread poking through, or a dimple still there at two weeks, should be reported rather than waited out.
It depends what you are comparing them with. For mild early sagging, in someone who cannot or will not have surgery and understands it lasts under a year, they can be. For heavy jowls or a loose neck they are not, and the same money spent on volume or put toward surgery usually gives a result people are happier with.
Morpheus8 is one brand of radiofrequency microneedling device. Profound, Vivace, Genius, Secret RF, Scarlet and Sylfirm X do the same job. Needle insulation, depth, energy and the operator determine the outcome.
Partly, and over a course. Rolling and boxcar scars become shallower across about three sessions. Icepick scars respond poorly. Expect improvement, not clearance.
Modestly, if the laxity is mild and early. It firms rather than lifts. Skin that visibly hangs will not respond, and a surgical consultation is the more honest next step.
More than plain microneedling. Numbing cream alone leaves a sharp hot sting, so many providers add injected anesthetic or nerve blocks at deeper settings. With those it is mostly pressure and heat.
Generally safer than ablative lasers, since melanin does not absorb the energy. Dark marks are still possible from the heat, sometimes in the grid pattern, and they fade over months. Ask about insulated needles and conservative starting settings.
Yes, and it is the risk worth understanding. Deep, high-energy settings in a thin face can shrink the fat under the skin, leaving a hollow that does not reliably return. Conservative settings built up over sessions, and a provider who takes the question seriously, are the protection.