It is broad-spectrum light.
IPL uses filtered pulses across a range of wavelengths, not a laser.
IPL: A broad-spectrum flashlamp, not a laser, used mainly for brown sun spots and facial redness. It is effective for those two problems on lighter skin, and it is not safe on deeper skin tones.
TCA Peel: A chemical peel using trichloroacetic acid. Depending on the strength it is either a light peel with a few days of flaking or a medium peel with a week of visible healing. It carries the highest pigment risk of the peels in common use.


Choose for sun spots and facial redness on lighter skin — it is not safe on deeper skin tones.
Choose for ice pick scars (as TCA CROSS) or stronger sun-damage peeling — the highest pigment risk of the common peels.
Can you have both?
A TCA peel needs a week or two to heal. Leave at least 4 weeks before IPL on peeled skin.
IPL uses filtered pulses across a range of wavelengths, not a laser.
It treats redness, benign pigmentation and unwanted hair.
A brown spot should be assessed before fading.
Tanning, darker skin and medicines raise the risk of burns or pigment change.
Trichloroacetic acid removes selected layers of skin.
Formulation, application and technique set the depth.
Online acid products should not be used to copy it.
Pigment-prone skin, herpes and scarring history need assessment.

Reduces redness and vessels.

Darkens spots that then flake off.

TCA CROSS raises deep pits.

Clears small facial vessels.

Fades red marks.

Clears spots.

Medium peels smooth lines.

Removes sun damage.

Doesn't change texture.

Patches often rebound darker.

Deep peels can darken patches.

Very irritating.
Face, neck, chest and hands.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Filtered light enters skin: A range of wavelengths is selected for the treatment target. Pigment or blood absorbs energy: Melanin or hemoglobin converts absorbed light into heat. Selected targets fade: Healing can reduce the treated brown spots or visible vessels.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
TCA is applied to selected skin: A clinician chooses the formulation and treatment plan. A controlled injury forms: The acid coagulates proteins in the treated layers. Skin heals and renews: The response depends on peel depth, technique, and skin.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
4 weeks before: Sun and tanning: No sun, sunbeds or self-tanner.
2 weeks before: Hair removal: No waxing, threading or hair removal cream.
4 weeks before: Sun and pigment prep: No tanning or sunburn for a month, or the peel leaves blotchy pigment.
4 weeks before: Sun and pigment prep: On deeper skin tones and with melasma, providers pre-treat 2 to 4 weeks with a pigment-blocking cream.
2 weeks before: Actives and hair removal: Stop retinoids, benzoyl peroxide and exfoliating acids 5 to 7 days before.
2 weeks before: Actives and hair removal: Stop waxing, threading and hair removal creams for 2 weeks.
3 to 5 days before: Actives and clean skin: Stop retinoids and exfoliating acids.
1 to 2 days before: Antiviral: Antiviral medicine starts a day or two before a medium peel, whether or not you get cold sores.
Skin tone: A good provider will ask, and will decline if IPL is wrong for your skin.
Skin tone: Be direct about your skin tone and how easily you tan.
Skin is cleaned and examined, and the provider checks your skin tone and recent sun.
Skin is checked and photographed, and antiviral medicine started if it has not been.
Opaque goggles go over your eyes and stay on; that is not optional.
The handpiece is pressed on the skin and fired in overlapping shots. You see a bright flash through closed eyelids. Each pulse feels like a hot rubber band snap, hottest over brown spots and hair, and stops as it ends. A full face takes about 20 minutes.
Skin is cleaned and degreased, eyes and lips protected.
The acid goes on with gauze or a brush, section by section, each area watched for frosting before the next layer. No neutralizing step; cool compresses follow. A light peel takes about 20 minutes, a medium 30 to 45. Medium TCA is genuinely uncomfortable, worst early.
Skin looks pink and feels warm, like mild sunburn.
Frosting fades within about 15 to 30 minutes, leaving skin bright red and swollen.
Days 1 to 2: Redness fades.
Days 1 to 3: Skin turns brown or bronze and feels stiff and leathery.
Days 3 to 14: Treated spots darken into fine brown flecks like coffee grounds, then flake away, leaving more even skin.
Days 3 to 10: Skin cracks and comes away in sheets, often starting at the mouth.
Weeks 2 to 6: Vessels and background redness clear gradually, and keep improving over later sessions.
Weeks 2 to 6: Pinkness settles over several weeks and takes makeup once skin is intact.
1–2 weeks per session
1–2 weeks after peeling
Months to years; new spots with sun
Months to years
In the US a full-face session usually runs about $300 to $600.
In the US a light TCA peel runs about $150 to $300 a session and a medium peel about $400 to $900, more for a full face with sedation.
Insurance does not cover cosmetic pigment or redness treatment.
Insurance does not cover peels for pigment, texture or scarring.
No. Broadband light is absorbed by all the pigment in its path, including the pigment that gives skin its color. On deeper skin tones that means burns and light or dark patches, and pale patches can be permanent. For pigment, ask about prescription creams and superficial peels. For hair, a 1064 nm Nd:YAG laser.
No. The skin tone chart supplied with home devices exists because the technology injures skin with more pigment, and most are labeled unsuitable for deeper skin tones and tanned skin. Many refuse to fire. The risk is the same as a clinic device, with nobody present to spot a problem early.
Usually not, and it commonly makes melasma worse: better for a few weeks, then darker and wider. If you have brown patches on the cheeks, forehead or upper lip, get a diagnosis before any light-based treatment.
That is what is meant to happen. Treated sun spots darken into fine brown flecks over the first few days, then flake off over one to two weeks. Do not scrub or pick.
Usually three to five for the face, three to four weeks apart, then maintenance once or twice a year. Brown spots improve faster than redness. Hair reduction takes six to ten or more.
No. IPL works on color: brown pigment and red vessels. Wrinkles, texture, pores and indented scars need a fractional laser or microneedling.
The white film that appears as TCA coagulates protein. It is the intended endpoint and how the provider judges depth. Patchy frost means a superficial peel; a solid white sheet means the upper dermis.
Same acid, different procedure. TCA CROSS places a high strength into the base of individual icepick scars and leaves the rest of the skin alone. A peel treats the whole area at much lower strength. If icepick scars are why you are going, ask for TCA CROSS by name.
About 3 to 5 days for a light peel, 7 to 10 for a medium one, plus several weeks of fading pinkness. Plan the week off before you book.
Light TCA and TCA CROSS are used on all skin tones. Medium-depth TCA across the face risks lasting dark or pale patches on deeper skin tones, so many providers choose a course of lighter peels instead.
TCA is used up as it reacts, so it stops on its own. Water rinses the surface but does not undo the reaction underneath. That is why it goes on in slow layers and is judged by frosting.
A face peel improves discoloration and texture but does not lift indented scars. Icepick scars may respond to TCA CROSS; rolling and boxcar scars usually need subcision, needling or laser.