It is an ablative laser.
It creates microscopic columns of injury in the skin.
Fractional CO2 Laser: An ablative laser that vaporizes thousands of microscopic columns of skin, leaving untouched skin between them to heal from. It is the most effective in-office treatment for indented acne scars, and the one with the most downtime and the highest pigment risk.
IPL: A broad-spectrum flashlamp, not a laser, used mainly for brown sun spots and facial redness. It is effective for those two problems on lighter skin, and it is not safe on deeper skin tones.


Choose for the biggest single improvement in indented acne scars or deep sun damage, accepting the most downtime and pigment risk.
Choose for sun spots and facial redness on lighter skin — it is not safe on deeper skin tones.
Can you have both?
They treat different things: IPL for redness and spots, CO2 for wrinkles and texture. Space them out; IPL is often done first.
It creates microscopic columns of injury in the skin.
Skin between the columns supports recovery.
It is stronger than a facial but less than fully ablative resurfacing.
Pigment, keloid, herpes and isotretinoin history need assessment.
IPL uses filtered pulses across a range of wavelengths, not a laser.
It treats redness, benign pigmentation and unwanted hair.
A brown spot should be assessed before fading.
Tanning, darker skin and medicines raise the risk of burns or pigment change.

Major improvement in many scar types.

Smooths wide scars.

Tightens and smooths.

Reduces redness and vessels.

Darkens spots that then flake off.

Clears sun damage.

Clears small facial vessels.

Fades red marks.

Doesn't change texture.

High risk of darkening.

Can worsen redness.

Patches often rebound darker.
Face; the selected area depends on the concern and treatment plan.
Face, neck, chest and hands.
Creates tiny treatment channels: Laser energy absorbed by water removes narrow columns of tissue. Untreated skin supports healing: Skin between the channels helps the surface repair. Collagen remodels over time: Repair can improve selected scars, lines, and texture.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Filtered light enters skin: A range of wavelengths is selected for the treatment target. Pigment or blood absorbs energy: Melanin or hemoglobin converts absorbed light into heat. Selected targets fade: Healing can reduce the treated brown spots or visible vessels.
Schematic illustration. Technique and response vary. This explains a mechanism and does not specify treatment settings.
Sun and pigment cream: No sun, and do not arrive tanned.
Sun and pigment cream: On deeper skin tones a pigment-blocking cream usually starts two to four weeks ahead.
Plan ahead: Time off and supplies: Book the time off, arrange a driver if sedation is planned, buy plain petrolatum and a gentle cleanser, and plan a week at home.
4 weeks before: Sun and tanning: No sun, sunbeds or self-tanner.
2 weeks before: Hair removal: No waxing, threading or hair removal cream.
Actives and smoking: Stop retinoids, benzoyl peroxide and acids.
1 to 2 days before: Antiviral tablets: Antiviral tablets start a day or two before and continue for several days after, since an outbreak in healing skin can scar.
3 to 5 days before: Actives and clean skin: Stop retinoids and exfoliating acids.
Skin is examined and photographed.
Skin tone: A good provider will ask, and will decline if IPL is wrong for your skin.
Skin tone: Be direct about your skin tone and how easily you tan.
Skin is cleaned and examined, and the provider checks your skin tone and recent sun.
The handpiece is passed or stamped over each zone.
Expect rapid clicking, a burning smell, and a smoke evacuator running. Heat builds fast and feels hot rather than sharp. A full face takes 30 to 60 minutes, genuinely painful without proper anesthesia. The burning carries on for an hour or two.
Opaque goggles go over your eyes and stay on; that is not optional.
The handpiece is pressed on the skin and fired in overlapping shots. You see a bright flash through closed eyelids. Each pulse feels like a hot rubber band snap, hottest over brown spots and hair, and stops as it ends. A full face takes about 20 minutes.
Skin is deep red, hot, swollen and weeping clear fluid, with a fine grid pattern visible.
Skin looks pink and feels warm, like mild sunburn.
Days 1 to 3: Swelling peaks on the first or second morning and can partly close the eyes.
Days 1 to 2: Redness fades.
Days 3 to 14: The skin turns bronze or grid-patterned brown, then flakes and sheets off, showing bright pink skin.
Days 3 to 14: Treated spots darken into fine brown flecks like coffee grounds, then flake away, leaving more even skin.
Week 3 to Month 12: Redness fades slowly, a month on light settings and three months or longer on aggressive ones.
Weeks 2 to 6: Vessels and background redness clear gradually, and keep improving over later sessions.
1–3 months, improving to 6
1–2 weeks per session
Years
Months to years; new spots with sun
A full-face session in the US usually runs $1,000 to $3,000, varying by city, device, depth, and whether sedation or an operating room is involved.
In the US a full-face session usually runs about $300 to $600.
Insurance does not cover resurfacing for acne scars, which is classed as cosmetic.
Insurance does not cover cosmetic pigment or redness treatment.
Five to ten days at home. Swelling and oozing days one to three, bronzing and sloughing days three to seven, and by day seven to ten the surface has closed and mineral makeup is usually allowed. Redness then fades over weeks to a few months.
It improves them substantially, more than any other single treatment, but it does not remove them. Rolling and boxcar scars respond best, icepick scars least, and mixed scarring usually needs subcision or TCA CROSS too.
Experienced providers do it using lower density, longer intervals, and pigment creams before and after. Dark marks are common and fade over months. The rare risk of permanent pigment loss is why many people with deeper skin tones choose microneedling instead.
One to three, 6 to 12 weeks apart, judged six months after the last one.
Yes, without proper anesthesia. Numbing cream alone is not enough for a full face, so nerve blocks, injected anesthetic or oral sedation are standard, and burning continues for an hour or two afterward.
Only with months of margin. Skin looks worse before it looks better, and redness can last one to three months. Six months ahead is a reasonable minimum.
No. Broadband light is absorbed by all the pigment in its path, including the pigment that gives skin its color. On deeper skin tones that means burns and light or dark patches, and pale patches can be permanent. For pigment, ask about prescription creams and superficial peels. For hair, a 1064 nm Nd:YAG laser.
No. The skin tone chart supplied with home devices exists because the technology injures skin with more pigment, and most are labeled unsuitable for deeper skin tones and tanned skin. Many refuse to fire. The risk is the same as a clinic device, with nobody present to spot a problem early.
Usually not, and it commonly makes melasma worse: better for a few weeks, then darker and wider. If you have brown patches on the cheeks, forehead or upper lip, get a diagnosis before any light-based treatment.
That is what is meant to happen. Treated sun spots darken into fine brown flecks over the first few days, then flake off over one to two weeks. Do not scrub or pick.
Usually three to five for the face, three to four weeks apart, then maintenance once or twice a year. Brown spots improve faster than redness. Hair reduction takes six to ten or more.
No. IPL works on color: brown pigment and red vessels. Wrinkles, texture, pores and indented scars need a fractional laser or microneedling.